Home :: Customer feedback

Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
59 results found
Show results 1 - 25
Apr 4, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
What a difference this makes to the standard focuser you get with the 200p, the 10:1 micro add-on is a god send, precise focusing is achieved every time, it's a must have add on, and is easy to fit, only takes 10 minutes.

Advantages: Makes focusing very easy and precise, the detail you can achieve is wonderful, and the price is very affordable, and it looks the part too, very well engineered.

Disadvantages: I can't find any disadvantages, as it's made my observing much easier and more enjoyable.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
Aug 26, 2016
I have owned a 25x100 observation binocular for over ten years but used very little. When I purchased them I also purchased the popular Horizon tripod as recommended by the supplier but it was woefully unsuitable for the task being unsteady and the plastic QR plate continuously flexing under the weight of the optics.
Enter the VT680!!!
The difference is night and day. I'm 6'2" with a disabling spinal injury but this tripod is so comfortable to use. Most importantly it is rock steady with zero slop in the head. Previously I had to suffer wobbly images but this tripod has next to no vibration issues and handles my large bino with ease.all the way up to the Zenith.
My only regret is that I hadn't discovered the VT680 earlier.

Advantages: super smooth head, great height range, very sturdy construction.

Disadvantages: None so far.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
Oct 25, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
had this only a short time but had a go and the images i got of the moon,Jupiter and Saturn were quite impressive for a first attempt they were nice and clear which as a land photographer was quite pleasing some practice is still needed to get the results i want but for a relatively inexpensive astro camera its very much worth its money
i would recommend this to anyone who like me is starting out in astro photography and wanting some good results first time out without spending a small fortune
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
Jun 22, 2017
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Bought as a replacement for my 1.25" Lunt and took a chance on this 2" kitted version of the Lacerta as it was a lot cheaper than the equivalent Lunt. I'm glad that I did, the contrast is much higher than previously. Much more detail is visible with regard to photosphere granulation and sunspots. Came to focus easily on my Skywatcher 120ED Equinox and makes the most of this scope's optics.

Advantages: Excellent build quality
Excellent image quality
No in-focus problems
Brewster angle provides superb contrast

Disadvantages: It weighs in at 750g so its no lightweight
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (0)
Simon Trenerry about  Celestron Nexstar Evolution 6:
Mar 27, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I purchased one of these scopes recently and am extremely pleased with it!

I chose it over the similar, but cheaper Celestron C6, because this scope had two eyepieces (instead of only one with the C6), built in battery power (a big plus because it saves having to buy a power tank / loads of AA batteries), wi fi control via a free app on my phone / tablet (a major plus for me as a techie!) and inproved alignment accuracy over other "previous generation" SCTs.

Assembly is a doddle - screw the fully pre-assembled scope and mount onto the pre-assembled tripod, add the finder and you are done - 10 - 15 minutes, most of which is spent unpacking the scope!

Size and weight wise it is fine for a 6 ft male (me) and at around 20kg is easy to move (although you would not want to walk far with it!).

The optics are first rate and it gives crisp views of the moon and planets, and resolves stars down to a point - the quality of views is at least as good as my much-more-expensive Swarovski ATX85 spotting scope.

Control from the app is so easy its unbelievable - a trillion times easier than the fiddly hand controls of previous generation scopes. Accuracy is excellent.

There is also the facility to use the scope in manual mode so you can move the scope at will independently of the app / controller.

I can't find fault with this scope - it is an SCT for the 21st century and I recommend it to astronomers of all ages and abilities: It is currenty on special offer at a very reasonable price so buy one soon before they sell out!

Advantages: Ease of use with the app.
Built in battery.
Great optics.
Excellent build quality.

Disadvantages: None
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (0)
Jun 16, 2015
After much eBay watching and surfing and price checking I settled on this scope, then I found 365Astronomy and my mind was made up. I called at 9pm on a Sunday and spoke to the owner! Great advice and scope and accessories collected next day, amazing service! The scope is so easy to use (no polar align, no balance weights etc.) and the optics are super sharp. Plus it comes with 2 eyepieces! and I have a bunch of rechargeable batteries, so it has been push button enjoyment from day 1. As for 365Astronomy, I think I have found my shop and will be coming back for more! For me they are 100% with service and I shall not be going anywhere else. I love my Nexstar 127!

(Original review submitted on 28 Dec 2011 via the old 365Astronomy website. / Administrator)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (0)
Jan 18, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I bought one of these for a wide very fast wide field telescope I' m building. First of all let me say service was great. Package arrived in 6 days, which surprised me. I live in the US and I thought it would take longer. The product itself was also a surprise. I thought it was a little pricy but 2" accessories usually are. The quality of these prisms is superb. Worth every penny.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Mr. Stephen Bassett about  40mm GSO Plossl Eyepiece:
Jun 16, 2015
I was curious as to why the 40mm had been reduced in price and is now cheaper than the 32mm but decided to give it a go. I was not dissapointed. This Plossl is great value for money. Using my telescope this eye piece gives me 18x magnification which is a nice step up from my 9x finder scope. I managed some fantastic views of some of the larger deep sky objects and was actually quite taken back by the detail I could make out on the moon. a great budget eyepiece and I will be considering some of the other Plossl's in GSO's range
(The discounted price was only a way of reducing large stock that we had of the 40mm Plossl at the time of your purchase. Thanks for your purchase, Zoltan, the Shop Owner)
(Original review submitted on 10 Dec 2012 via the old 365Astronomy website. / Administrator)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Oct 9, 2015
Kind of an anticlimax... I've been mulling over getting a dual speed for my 150P for a while. They're expensive though and being an amateur engineer even considered having a go at making one. I'm only an amateur astronomer, like taking images of planets to the best of my ability and pleased with the results. Focusing on the standard single speed 150P became a limitation to the imaging and a dual speed was on the cards but without breaking the bank. Then I found this product, ordered and delivered. It's well made, feels good and smooth, has a quality feel about it, adds a little mass but not much. When I say "a bit of an anti climax", I was looking forward to an evening tinkering in the garage on my own with my new focuser. Website doesn't say it will fit a 150P so expected maybe mill a little off here and there, turn down some bits .... potentially an evening of fun. Five and half minutes later (including time to find the right allen keys), it's fitted. It fits? Like a glove, silky smooth, with no adjustment, no mucking about or re engineering to make it fit, it just fits? What an excellent piece of kit! It has totally transformed my cheap scope. It will of course be cloudy now for the next six months!

Advantages: It fits, It's easy to fit. It transforms the scope. A very reasonable price considering quality of engineering, smoothness etc.

Disadvantages: None from my perspective.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Feb 6, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This upgrade kit works on the Orion XT8 single speed crayford too. I am very pleased with the communication from 365 regarding this and being able to get it shipped to US in just a little over 1 week. Installed just like the pdf shows, very easy and nice smooth action.

Advantages: Fits Orion XT8 single speed crayford.
Easy installation, no holes to drill, no collimation issues afterward.
Very smooth action.

Disadvantages: None, I am very pleased with the quality.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Apr 12, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Perfect tight fit for the Skywatcher Startravel 102 refractor.

Advantages: This is the first time I have tried solar astronomy and the results with this filter are astounding. The advantage of Baader Solar Film but in this perfect fit plastic mount which is a third of the cost of the Baader aluminium adjustable mount.

Disadvantages: Finding the sun! Yes - so efficient at blocking light that the background is totally black and makes locating the sun through the scope very difficult. Solution - about to order the Lacerta Solar Finder which also happens to have a Skywatcher compatible mount.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Feb 10, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Great product. Does exactly as required and provides direct access through the hand-controller to the mount accessing EQMOD functions through a powered USB 3 hub and 10m USB 3 cable to my laptop. Installation of the cable firmware was easy and worked first time. I can change USB ports and this is automatically picked up. Thanks Zoltan, this was a great recommendation!.

Advantages: Operates perfectly through a long powered USB cable for remote imaging.
Firmware installation is easy
Works with a powered USB hub

Disadvantages: None so far!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Anthony Flynn about  Celestron SkyMaster 15x70 Binocular:
Jul 19, 2017
This customer purchased the item at our site.
The Celestron SkyMaster 15x70 Binoculars are amazing, after a minor collimation the view is crystal clear, you can even make out jupiters moons and a glimpse of saturns ring and the view of the moon is breathtaking, these are fantastic value.

Advantages: great quality, crystal clear view, easy to use, tripod adapter, carry bag, cleaning cloth

Disadvantages: may need tripod for extended viewing but still lighter than the big ones
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Dec 3, 2017
Review of the Skywatcher Wifi Adapter.
Have no doubts , this works very well ! The app is very easy to use and yields accurate results. After setting up the mount for levelling and polar aligning, just switch on the power and a small green light will come on the unit. A really excellent bit of kit and really recommended.
Nick.


Advantages: Wifi connection is fast and the gps gives near instant results.
It makes a change not having to enter the time and position in the handset.
Star alignment, followed by searching for targets is very easy, with a simple press on the home logo to get you back. User objects are entered by RA and Dec, best use a screen stylus here.
There are as many options as you need.

Disadvantages: Hoping that the best of the SAO will be added in the future.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Tomas Lengvinas about  ZWO USB ST4 Adapter:
Jan 10, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Not so practical today, but works quite well.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Jun 12, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Bought initially to use with my 15x70 binoculars, but is also used with my 4" refractor scope without any balancing issues.
Good points:
Robustness - has a very solid feel
Smooth slow-motion action on both axes, with effective locks
High payload capacity
Light weight
Fits M10 or 3/8" tripod threads

Overall a very useful piece of kit which allows you to scroll the sky past your viewport with ease.

Advantages: Robustness - has a very solid feel
Smooth slow-motion action on both axes, with effective locks
High payload capacity
Light weight
Fits M10 or 3/8" tripod threads

Disadvantages: Paint finish is too thick in places
Flexi-cables come undone too easily
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Jun 20, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Fits snug and secure on my Celestron Nexstar 127 SLT. Tried it out on the day it arrived, and managed to see a few sunspots. Time to make the most of the long summer days.

Advantages: Easy on & off.
Secure & sturdy, and won't blow off.
Looks like it's easy to replace film if anything should happen.

Disadvantages: No case to safely store to avoid damaging film. Keeping it in shipping box.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Oct 3, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This is a drop-in replacement for the single-speed Crayford focuser on the 12" Sky Watcher Flex Tube Collapsible Dobsonian. Smoothness is exceptional, and should be a major improvement with eyepieces of 10mm or less. Zoltan at 365Astronomy had to hustle a bit to get the item for me, Shipping to my address in the US took about 9 days.

Advantages: Dual speed
Cost effective upgrade
Includes extenders for 1.25" and 2" EPs
"Sky Watcher White"

Disadvantages: No instructions, Allen wrenches, or screws
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Nov 6, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This is a stunning mount, far, far better than the iOptron/SW trackers. I cannot measure the PE with a 400-mm lens, it is better than my Paramount. Just be sure to align it accurately with a decent polarscope or PoleMaster and you're done.

Advantages: Light, low power, does not need a guider and well built. Smaller than Astrotrac but tracks better.

Disadvantages: 1.5 hour tracking limit - but if you align first on a star, you can reset a pan head for another go

(note by the UK distributor: it will track for a bit more than 1.5h. Actually it is closer to 2h. To be exact, it'll track for 1h 48m. Then reversing to the start position takes about 11 seconds. Otherwise, thanks a lot for your excellent review! Zoltan, 365Astronomy)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Feb 27, 2017
This customer purchased the item at our site.
very well built wedge dose the job very well
highly reccommend

Advantages: very sturdy well built ease of set up and use

Disadvantages: weight but it would not be sturdy without
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Mr. David Davies about  20mm GSO Plossl Eyepiece:
Jun 16, 2015
Very good value for money. The sharpness is excellent and the build quality very good. I us this as my "finder-scope" before switching to higher power. The field of view is good for Messier objects. I think that the GSO eyepieces take some beating for the money!
(Original review submitted on 28 Jan 2012 via the old 365Astronomy website. / Administrator)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Oct 13, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I ordered this 80mm scope primarily for use as a spotter for archery, but was also interested ini ts use for astronomy. It was delivered very promptly by courier and in one piece despite a recent Astronomy Conference causing some delay!. Thank you for that.

Advantages: For me the scope worked well as an archery spotter over some 30m range (long garden) offering a good clear view of all of the target at x20 and an excellent view of the gold for those who group their arrows there! At 30 m I would say the magnification is a little high, but clearly at 50 -100m range it will prove excellent.
The focussingi s smooth (if a little lengthy) but does not disturb the scope when operated with a single finger..
The finish to scope is very good, feels robust, and is unlikely to slip out of your hands. There is an integral fixed hood to keep some sun out. (The fron lens is set back). The mounting is fixed (no rotation), but angle is easily changed with a standard tripod head to view from the side. Image is large and clear.

Disadvantages: I would say there are few disadvantages to this model, and it is inexpensive! (I happliy spend £1000- £2000 on L-series lenses for canon a SLR). - and there lies the problem in quality. Viewing stars and planets recently, I became aware of the chomatic aberration from the lens train in the scope, and I am not used to seeing that! So viewing astronomical objects with the scope is somewhat limited by the colour splitting on sharp objects. Having said that I did get a good view of the moon x60 where I saw more detail than I have seen since working with professional telescopes decades ago! Not a bad product at at all!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Mar 25, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This fits my Celeston 127 Nextstar SLT perfectly. Works well to.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Apr 29, 2016
The difference that the filter makes when imaging the moon is incredible, everything appears sharper and it can even give sharp contrasty lunar images in daylight with black skies. I am going to try it on Venus as soon as its in a suitable position. Jupiter looks strange with very different details becoming noticeable but unfortunately the noise is increased.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Nov 28, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This commlite was purchased for my Sony A5000 to use my Cannon Lenses.
Works well, Good Price and Very fast service!

Advantages: Can use Auto Focus and Apature control on selection of Lenses, but not all.
Good option rather than having to purchase expensive Sony Lenses if you already have canon lenses.

Disadvantages: AutoFocus is very slow, if available. Best solution is to use manual focus.
Not all Lenses Apature can be adjusted from the camera.
The disadvantages are out weighed by cost of Sony Lenses.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)

 
The website uses cookies to allow us to better understand how the site is used. By continuing to use this site, you consent to this policy. Click to learn more.