Home :: Customer feedback

Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
46 results found
Show results 26 - 46
Apr 29, 2016
The difference that the filter makes when imaging the moon is incredible, everything appears sharper and it can even give sharp contrasty lunar images in daylight with black skies. I am going to try it on Venus as soon as its in a suitable position. Jupiter looks strange with very different details becoming noticeable but unfortunately the noise is increased.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Apr 16, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Works well ! Thank you Zoltan!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Apr 12, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Perfect tight fit for the Skywatcher Startravel 102 refractor.

Advantages: This is the first time I have tried solar astronomy and the results with this filter are astounding. The advantage of Baader Solar Film but in this perfect fit plastic mount which is a third of the cost of the Baader aluminium adjustable mount.

Disadvantages: Finding the sun! Yes - so efficient at blocking light that the background is totally black and makes locating the sun through the scope very difficult. Solution - about to order the Lacerta Solar Finder which also happens to have a Skywatcher compatible mount.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Mar 25, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This fits my Celeston 127 Nextstar SLT perfectly. Works well to.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Mar 19, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I am running two of the mc3 boxes. I used one on a home built pipe mount with Byers expensive RA and DEC gears. Interface to the mc3 is easy to use. I use the synscan handbox controller and not the mc3 handbox. i have not tried the mc3 handbox.

Advantages: You can use almost any type of stepper motor. But, if the stepper rotates too fast then the GEAR RATIO has to be large. If the stepper rotates too slow it might stall. Watch the wiring for the 4 and 6 wire steppers. Both will work if wired correctly. You can get the GPS syncscan adapter from Canada Company. That lets it set the lat/long and time.

Disadvantages: Warning, if you use the synscan hbx, it must have version 2.27 or 2.28. Any other code will not work. Do not buy the synscan 3.x or upgrade the one you might purchase. You can not downgrade from 3.x to 2.27. I tried that and it did not work with the mc3. I have had to play with the GEAR ratio the MC3 uses. You have to do some star tracking and determine the too fast or too slow error and adjust the Gear Ratio number in the MC3.

Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Mr. Eugene O'Malley about  Celestron Ultima LX 17mm Eyepiece - 2" / 1.25":
Mar 12, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I normally use a 21mm Hyperion for deep sky and found it to be good. I can't fault the 17mm Ultima LX. In my F/10 9.25” SCT, I think it's better with superior edge correction. It has good light throughput, is dead sharp in the centre, has depth of focus with pin point stars to 90% of the field stop. Objects just seem to snap-to-focus.

Advantages: Contrasty with a nice dark background and flat field across 90% of the fov. It is also a good planetary eyepiece. I didn’t notice any ghosting or flaring. The angular design means that it won't slide off a table and the dual fitting means it can be used in 1 1/4 and 2" focusers. The twist up eye cup is a nice feature which allows good eye placement. The wide 70 deg fov is comfortable and you can see the entire view with ease. On a night of good seeing I saw intricate cloud structure in Jupiter's belts at 138X

Disadvantages: It is bulky and weighs about 1 1/4lb, which may require counter-balancing on some mounts. The 1 1/4” nosepiece may slip unless it is securely tightened.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Feb 6, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This upgrade kit works on the Orion XT8 single speed crayford too. I am very pleased with the communication from 365 regarding this and being able to get it shipped to US in just a little over 1 week. Installed just like the pdf shows, very easy and nice smooth action.

Advantages: Fits Orion XT8 single speed crayford.
Easy installation, no holes to drill, no collimation issues afterward.
Very smooth action.

Disadvantages: None, I am very pleased with the quality.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (0)
Oct 13, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I ordered this 80mm scope primarily for use as a spotter for archery, but was also interested ini ts use for astronomy. It was delivered very promptly by courier and in one piece despite a recent Astronomy Conference causing some delay!. Thank you for that.

Advantages: For me the scope worked well as an archery spotter over some 30m range (long garden) offering a good clear view of all of the target at x20 and an excellent view of the gold for those who group their arrows there! At 30 m I would say the magnification is a little high, but clearly at 50 -100m range it will prove excellent.
The focussingi s smooth (if a little lengthy) but does not disturb the scope when operated with a single finger..
The finish to scope is very good, feels robust, and is unlikely to slip out of your hands. There is an integral fixed hood to keep some sun out. (The fron lens is set back). The mounting is fixed (no rotation), but angle is easily changed with a standard tripod head to view from the side. Image is large and clear.

Disadvantages: I would say there are few disadvantages to this model, and it is inexpensive! (I happliy spend £1000- £2000 on L-series lenses for canon a SLR). - and there lies the problem in quality. Viewing stars and planets recently, I became aware of the chomatic aberration from the lens train in the scope, and I am not used to seeing that! So viewing astronomical objects with the scope is somewhat limited by the colour splitting on sharp objects. Having said that I did get a good view of the moon x60 where I saw more detail than I have seen since working with professional telescopes decades ago! Not a bad product at at all!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Oct 9, 2015
Kind of an anticlimax... I've been mulling over getting a dual speed for my 150P for a while. They're expensive though and being an amateur engineer even considered having a go at making one. I'm only an amateur astronomer, like taking images of planets to the best of my ability and pleased with the results. Focusing on the standard single speed 150P became a limitation to the imaging and a dual speed was on the cards but without breaking the bank. Then I found this product, ordered and delivered. It's well made, feels good and smooth, has a quality feel about it, adds a little mass but not much. When I say "a bit of an anti climax", I was looking forward to an evening tinkering in the garage on my own with my new focuser. Website doesn't say it will fit a 150P so expected maybe mill a little off here and there, turn down some bits .... potentially an evening of fun. Five and half minutes later (including time to find the right allen keys), it's fitted. It fits? Like a glove, silky smooth, with no adjustment, no mucking about or re engineering to make it fit, it just fits? What an excellent piece of kit! It has totally transformed my cheap scope. It will of course be cloudy now for the next six months!

Advantages: It fits, It's easy to fit. It transforms the scope. A very reasonable price considering quality of engineering, smoothness etc.

Disadvantages: None from my perspective.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (0)
Jun 16, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Very impressed. Used to replace the Celestron factory supplied 1.25" visual back on C800 EdgeHD. Using it with a 365Astronomy 2" dielectric star diagonal with 1.25" adapter. Grips flawlessly and doesn't mark the neck of the diagonal. Highly recommended.
(original review submitted on 1 Sep 2014 via the old 365Astronomy website. / Administrator)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 15, 2015
After much eBay watching and surfing and price checking I settled on this scope, then I found 365Astronomy and my mind was made up. I called at 9pm on a Sunday and spoke to the owner! Great advice and scope and accessories collected next day, amazing service! The scope is so easy to use (no polar align, no balance weights etc.) and the optics are super sharp. Plus it comes with 2 eyepieces! and I have a bunch of rechargeable batteries, so it has been push button enjoyment from day 1. As for 365Astronomy, I think I have found my shop and will be coming back for more! For me they are 100% with service and I shall not be going anywhere else. I love my Nexstar 127!

(Original review submitted on 28 Dec 2011 via the old 365Astronomy website. / Administrator)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (0)
Mr. John O'Brien about  Baader Hyperion Eyepiece 8mm:
Jun 15, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
"Absolutely awesome EP! I've given it 4 stars down to the fact that I've not had chance to use it properly yet. From only using it for 1 night so far, I can tell it's going to give me some amazing views of the night sky.
Would recommend this to anyone who doesn't want to break the bank but wants a quality EP, you won't regret it!
I'll definitely be buying more Baarder Hyperion EP's when I get paid at the end of the month!
Also, hats off to 365 who sent the item fast and well packaged and kept me well informed via email!
Thanks guys!!"

(Original review submitted on 16 Jan 2011 via the old 365Astronomy website. / Administrator)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 15, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
As you might recall, I promised to send you a picture of what can be done with the filter.
I've finally had it attached to a Canon EOS 450D and had the camera and a 18-55 IS kit lens autofocus calibrated.
I've just taken it the first spin today and I've attached a picture to this mail. To achieve the eerie IR effect I'm using a custom white balance from a picture if a patch of grass(as green leaves reflects all IR lighting) and I've attached a Hoya R72 filter in front of the lens. Now I can do these pictures handhelld in comparison to the 10 seconds tripod exposures I got before the mod.
I've still got to work with hotspots in the picture from the IR lighting, but all in all I'm very happy!
Thanks a lot for the effort you put into helping me with this.
Kind Regards, Brian

See the image submitted by B.L. Christensen at the bottom of the product description!
(Note from the editor)

(Original review submitted on 16 Jun 2010 via the old 365Astronomy website. / Administrator)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 15, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
"Excellent product and considerably cheaper than other named brands remotes.
Bei-ng a man, I attempted to work out how to operate this without reading the enclosed instruction sheet but struggled. However, 2 minutes after giving in and reading the instructions, my camera was shooting happily away. Bought for use in conjunction with my Astrotrac, I can see this being a godsend.
Exc-ellent delivery speed and security as always seems to be the case with 365Astronomy. Keep up the good work Zoltan! :)"

(Original review submitted on 16 Aug 2013 via the old 365Astronomy website. / Administrator)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 15, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
"Wow, after using the normal lenses that came with the telescope we stuck this on and it was great.
We then put the x2 Barlow on it and the star smacked the wife right in the eye, can't wait for the Moon to show up on a clear night.
Once again thanks for the info and lens, rest assured of our continued custom.
Regard-s, Ian Fraser"

(Original review submitted on 22 Feb 2012 via the old 365Astronomy website. / Administrator)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (1)
Mr. Stephen Bassett about  40mm GSO Plossl Eyepiece:
Jun 15, 2015
I was curious as to why the 40mm had been reduced in price and is now cheaper than the 32mm but decided to give it a go. I was not dissapointed. This Plossl is great value for money. Using my telescope this eye piece gives me 18x magnification which is a nice step up from my 9x finder scope. I managed some fantastic views of some of the larger deep sky objects and was actually quite taken back by the detail I could make out on the moon. a great budget eyepiece and I will be considering some of the other Plossl's in GSO's range
(The discounted price was only a way of reducing large stock that we had of the 40mm Plossl at the time of your purchase. Thanks for your purchase, Zoltan, the Shop Owner)
(Original review submitted on 10 Dec 2012 via the old 365Astronomy website. / Administrator)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Mr. Martti Miettinen about  4.8mm Abbe Orthoscopic Eyepiece:
Jun 15, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This is a good eyepiece for double stars and for planetary viewing. I recommend.
(Original review submitted on 7 Mar 2013 via the old 365Astronomy website. / Administrator)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 15, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
A well engineered 2" star diagonal. Used with a Baader 2" Click Lock. Worth every pound. Compression rings make eps swaps a breeze & no chewing up the surfaces.

(Original review submitted on 1 Sep 2014 via the old 365Astronomy website. / Administrator)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Mr. David Davies about  20mm GSO Plossl Eyepiece:
Jun 15, 2015
Very good value for money. The sharpness is excellent and the build quality very good. I us this as my "finder-scope" before switching to higher power. The field of view is good for Messier objects. I think that the GSO eyepieces take some beating for the money!
(Original review submitted on 28 Jan 2012 via the old 365Astronomy website. / Administrator)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Apr 4, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
What a difference this makes to the standard focuser you get with the 200p, the 10:1 micro add-on is a god send, precise focusing is achieved every time, it's a must have add on, and is easy to fit, only takes 10 minutes.

Advantages: Makes focusing very easy and precise, the detail you can achieve is wonderful, and the price is very affordable, and it looks the part too, very well engineered.

Disadvantages: I can't find any disadvantages, as it's made my observing much easier and more enjoyable.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (6) / No (0)
Simon Trenerry about  Celestron Nexstar Evolution 6:
Mar 27, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I purchased one of these scopes recently and am extremely pleased with it!

I chose it over the similar, but cheaper Celestron C6, because this scope had two eyepieces (instead of only one with the C6), built in battery power (a big plus because it saves having to buy a power tank / loads of AA batteries), wi fi control via a free app on my phone / tablet (a major plus for me as a techie!) and inproved alignment accuracy over other "previous generation" SCTs.

Assembly is a doddle - screw the fully pre-assembled scope and mount onto the pre-assembled tripod, add the finder and you are done - 10 - 15 minutes, most of which is spent unpacking the scope!

Size and weight wise it is fine for a 6 ft male (me) and at around 20kg is easy to move (although you would not want to walk far with it!).

The optics are first rate and it gives crisp views of the moon and planets, and resolves stars down to a point - the quality of views is at least as good as my much-more-expensive Swarovski ATX85 spotting scope.

Control from the app is so easy its unbelievable - a trillion times easier than the fiddly hand controls of previous generation scopes. Accuracy is excellent.

There is also the facility to use the scope in manual mode so you can move the scope at will independently of the app / controller.

I can't find fault with this scope - it is an SCT for the 21st century and I recommend it to astronomers of all ages and abilities: It is currenty on special offer at a very reasonable price so buy one soon before they sell out!

Advantages: Ease of use with the app.
Built in battery.
Great optics.
Excellent build quality.

Disadvantages: None
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)

 
The website uses cookies to allow us to better understand how the site is used. By continuing to use this site, you consent to this policy. Click to learn more.