Home :: Customer feedback

Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
45 results found
Show results 26 - 45
Jul 8, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Price is amazing, I had been close to buying these at £130 from elsewhere (rrp is ~£180) when they popped up here at £99. What a deal.
Arrived extremely promptly by Royal Mail.

Build quality seems good, they are sturdy and the rubber like finish is what you would expect. The hinge is stiff but this is good imo (better stiff than loose). Focus wheel is just right. Very deep twists ups which I like.

Image quality is very nice, exceptionally bright and easy to look through. Ideal for my use, birding - although they might be a little heavy if you were carrying them all day.

I cannot be more pleased with the glass, At their rrp they would be good value, at this price they are a steal.


Advantages: Good build quality.
Flip down lens caps - minor but for some reason I did not expect this, but its always a nice thing.
Great optics at this price bracket.
Amazing value at sale price.

Disadvantages: A little heavy for carrying around in the hand but this is true of all 56 binocs.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Oct 10, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Great service from the 365 team.
Solar filter fits my SW Skymax Mak 127 perfectly. Nice and reassuringly snug. Highly recommend.

Advantages: Won't break if you accidentally drop it. Great snug reassuring fit.
Easy to maintain.
Bought a 50p Tupperware tub to store it in.

Disadvantages: No plastic container to store it in but for 50p a cheap Tupperware tub does the job perfectly. Does not detract from the quality or fit.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Oct 26, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Fitting a 2-inch BDS-RT Baader Diamond Steeltrack Focuser to a Teleskop-Service GSO 8-inch Ritchey-Chretien

Background

The TS 8-inch RC has M90x1mm connections at the focuser end of the scope. My setup has a TS
50mm extension adapter with for 6- & 8-inch RC connected to the scope (TS part no: GSRCV50),
to accommodate the long back-focus.
Attached to this is a TS M90 tilting adapter flange (TS part no: GSRCJ90). This is an aid to
collimation and allows the long axis of the focuser to be aligned with the optical axis of the scope.
I then have a standard TS monorail focuser for the RC, again with an M90x1 connection.
Image 1 shows the 50mm extension and tilting flange, with the old focuser removed. Note the M90
male thread at the end of the flange, to which the focuser connects.
Fitting the Baader Diamond Steeltrack RT
It is assumed that the reader has access to the Steeltrack manual and has purchased the necessary
RT-Adapter M90x1 Diamond Steeltrack (Baader part number 2957283).


1. The Steeltrack RT is supplied with an M68 adapter as standard. Remove this by loosening
the M5 screws around its outer edge. An M88 dovetail is exposed. See Image 2.

2. Connect the new RT-adapter to the Steeltrack, tightening the M5 screws sufficiently to hold
it in place, but still just rotates. Note that the thumbscrew from the M68 adapter can be
transferred. See Image 3.

3. Connect the Steeltrack to the tilting flange, rotate the focuser to the desired orientation, then
tighten the thumbscrew to lock it in place. If desired, the M5 screws around the edge of the
M90 adapter can be tightened for a firmer grip. See Image 4.

After fitting the Steeltrack, I can confirm that the focuser has the full 80mm inward travel.

This above method should still be applicable, even if a tilting flange is not present, as M90x1mm
connections are standard on this size of RC. However, with only the 50mm extension in place, it
may be that the focuser will not move the final 5mm of inward travel, depending upon the size of
any baffle at the junction of the extension and the scope.
Note that an alternative method is not to transfer the thumbscrew from the M68 to M90 adapters,
but to use the all the standard screws.

G.N.Wilcock
October 2019
(see customer's images under the product description; Zoltan, 365Astronomy)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Dec 14, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I firstly ordered the ADM version of this product for my Takahashi FD-100 DF. The base of the ADM does not fit onto the scope! I then got the dimensions of the FARPOINT version which were 1mm smaller than the ADM. This one is perfect, it makes packing away into the bag and setting up quick and repeatable. Nice piece of engineering. Thanks for your help Zoltan !

Advantages: Quick take down/set up.

Disadvantages: Stops me using the finder bracket as a handle.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 21, 2017
This customer purchased the item at our site.
very nicely and accurately made

Advantages: secure binocular attachment

Disadvantages: rather heavy. - I cannot see the point of using a finder scope with straight through binoculars.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 16, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Very impressed. Used to replace the Celestron factory supplied 1.25" visual back on C800 EdgeHD. Using it with a 365Astronomy 2" dielectric star diagonal with 1.25" adapter. Grips flawlessly and doesn't mark the neck of the diagonal. Highly recommended.
(original review submitted on 1 Sep 2014 via the old 365Astronomy website. / Administrator)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 15, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
A well engineered 2" star diagonal. Used with a Baader 2" Click Lock. Worth every pound. Compression rings make eps swaps a breeze & no chewing up the surfaces.

(Original review submitted on 1 Sep 2014 via the old 365Astronomy website. / Administrator)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Mr. Martti Miettinen about  4.8mm Abbe Orthoscopic Eyepiece:
Jun 15, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This is a good eyepiece for double stars and for planetary viewing. I recommend.
(Original review submitted on 7 Mar 2013 via the old 365Astronomy website. / Administrator)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 15, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
"Wow, after using the normal lenses that came with the telescope we stuck this on and it was great.
We then put the x2 Barlow on it and the star smacked the wife right in the eye, can't wait for the Moon to show up on a clear night.
Once again thanks for the info and lens, rest assured of our continued custom.
Regard-s, Ian Fraser"

(Original review submitted on 22 Feb 2012 via the old 365Astronomy website. / Administrator)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (1)
Jun 15, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
"Excellent product and considerably cheaper than other named brands remotes.
Bei-ng a man, I attempted to work out how to operate this without reading the enclosed instruction sheet but struggled. However, 2 minutes after giving in and reading the instructions, my camera was shooting happily away. Bought for use in conjunction with my Astrotrac, I can see this being a godsend.
Exc-ellent delivery speed and security as always seems to be the case with 365Astronomy. Keep up the good work Zoltan! :)"

(Original review submitted on 16 Aug 2013 via the old 365Astronomy website. / Administrator)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 15, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
As you might recall, I promised to send you a picture of what can be done with the filter.
I've finally had it attached to a Canon EOS 450D and had the camera and a 18-55 IS kit lens autofocus calibrated.
I've just taken it the first spin today and I've attached a picture to this mail. To achieve the eerie IR effect I'm using a custom white balance from a picture if a patch of grass(as green leaves reflects all IR lighting) and I've attached a Hoya R72 filter in front of the lens. Now I can do these pictures handhelld in comparison to the 10 seconds tripod exposures I got before the mod.
I've still got to work with hotspots in the picture from the IR lighting, but all in all I'm very happy!
Thanks a lot for the effort you put into helping me with this.
Kind Regards, Brian

See the image submitted by B.L. Christensen at the bottom of the product description!
(Note from the editor)

(Original review submitted on 16 Jun 2010 via the old 365Astronomy website. / Administrator)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Mr. John O'Brien about  Baader Hyperion Eyepiece 8mm:
Jun 15, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
"Absolutely awesome EP! I've given it 4 stars down to the fact that I've not had chance to use it properly yet. From only using it for 1 night so far, I can tell it's going to give me some amazing views of the night sky.
Would recommend this to anyone who doesn't want to break the bank but wants a quality EP, you won't regret it!
I'll definitely be buying more Baarder Hyperion EP's when I get paid at the end of the month!
Also, hats off to 365 who sent the item fast and well packaged and kept me well informed via email!
Thanks guys!!"

(Original review submitted on 16 Jan 2011 via the old 365Astronomy website. / Administrator)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Mar 19, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I am running two of the mc3 boxes. I used one on a home built pipe mount with Byers expensive RA and DEC gears. Interface to the mc3 is easy to use. I use the synscan handbox controller and not the mc3 handbox. i have not tried the mc3 handbox.

Advantages: You can use almost any type of stepper motor. But, if the stepper rotates too fast then the GEAR RATIO has to be large. If the stepper rotates too slow it might stall. Watch the wiring for the 4 and 6 wire steppers. Both will work if wired correctly. You can get the GPS syncscan adapter from Canada Company. That lets it set the lat/long and time.

Disadvantages: Warning, if you use the synscan hbx, it must have version 2.27 or 2.28. Any other code will not work. Do not buy the synscan 3.x or upgrade the one you might purchase. You can not downgrade from 3.x to 2.27. I tried that and it did not work with the mc3. I have had to play with the GEAR ratio the MC3 uses. You have to do some star tracking and determine the too fast or too slow error and adjust the Gear Ratio number in the MC3.

Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Apr 16, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Works well ! Thank you Zoltan!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 10, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Very solid little solar finder at only 45mm overall length. No instruction supplied but it is obvious that the front black pin hole adjusts laterally and the rear ground glass screen provides the vertical adjustment to align with the telescope. The illustration shows rather large thumb screws for adjustment but the finder as received has neater hexagonal headed bolts which require a suitable Allen key but are not obtrusive like the thumb screws.
My only negative comment is that the base wedge is slightly oversize by 1-2 mm and would not fit into my SkyWatcher finder mount so required some grinding down to fit!

Advantages: Very simple but neat solid device for finding the sun when aligned with the scope otherwise not an easy task when using Badder Solar Film!

Disadvantages: Wedge base slightly too big to fit into SW finder holder - needed grinding down.

(We are checking this with the customer as we tested it on our Skywatcher Dobsonian and it did perfectly fit with a 0.5mm gap...so we have to check with him what exact finder base he's got on his telescope.../ the shop owner)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 12, 2016
I just wanted to say thank you for the outstanding customer service I received last week when I ordered a sun filter from your website.

Having checked my old filter, I decided it wasn't safe to use to view Monday's transit, so ordered a new one in the hope it would arrive in time. I was pleasantly surprised when you rang me on Saturday and arranged to send it special delivery so I would definitely get it on time.

I have never received such thoughtful and personal service when ordering online before.

Seeing the transit with my daughters was a memorable experience, and that's thanks to you. 365astromony will be my first port of call from now on!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 20, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I have just taken delivery of this item and must say I am very impressed . It is a substantial Machined block with good tight fitting screws. It is just what I need for mounting my ST80 on to the Skywatcher Star Adventurer mount, rock solid. Can't fault it.

In addition ordering and delivery were quick hassle free.

Advantages: Solid
Lightweight
Precision engineered

Disadvantages: None that I can find
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 24, 2016
Great guidescope! I am using this product with a Skywatcher 7.5inch Maksutov-Newtonian for deep sky and planetary imaging. Combo seems to work very well.

Advantages: Steel Tube Rings
Many nice accessories
Good price
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Sep 27, 2016
I bought this product for a friend for her birthday. The product came well boxed and presented. Unfortunately, the ring flash did not fit the Sony Alpha A5000. I only discovered this after the deadline for returns, however I contacted 365astronomy and they were extremely helpful. They researched what the issue was (i.e. that Sony have labelled this camera as part of the Alpha range even though it has different specs) and then very kindly offered to refund the product if it was returned. Excellent customer service and I will definitely use 365astronomy again.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Oct 20, 2016
I use this filter in front of my coma corrector, when imaging emission and planetary nebulae, using a modded dslr on 130 and 254mm dia Newtonian reflectors.

It has proven to be very effective in bringing out the blue-green OIII and H-beta lines in the supernova remnants.

Advantages: Because the bandwidth passed is slightly wider than true NB filters, it means that I can get imaging OIII/H-beta/H-alpha contrast in exposure times of say 90seconds, with stacks of only 90-100 minutes.

So, for DSLR OSC imaging of appropriate targets, you are done and dusted in a single night. All this for a fraction of the cost of the narrower bandwidth UHCs.

You also get to use it as a good light pollution filter on top of the above advantages, under urban city skies

Disadvantages: Always remember that 2" filters are in fact typically 48mm in diameter, not 50.8 or 52mm.

So, when using the filter with a lens-DSLR combination, if the lens is a typical 52mm diameter then you will need a 52-48 step-down ring.

These are £2-£3 only, so no big deal, as long as you are prepped.

Like the Astronomik CLS clip, individual subs-exposures have colour tint - in the case of this product it is slightly purple in colour cast. Just take some flats to cancel out this colour cast.

It soon comes away on stacking in DSS or similar.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

 
The website uses cookies to allow us to better understand how the site is used. By continuing to use this site, you consent to this policy. Click to learn more.