Home :: Customer feedback

Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
49 results found
Show results 1 - 25
Nov 6, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This is a stunning mount, far, far better than the iOptron/SW trackers. I cannot measure the PE with a 400-mm lens, it is better than my Paramount. Just be sure to align it accurately with a decent polarscope or PoleMaster and you're done.

Advantages: Light, low power, does not need a guider and well built. Smaller than Astrotrac but tracks better.

Disadvantages: 1.5 hour tracking limit - but if you align first on a star, you can reset a pan head for another go

(note by the UK distributor: it will track for a bit more than 1.5h. Actually it is closer to 2h. To be exact, it'll track for 1h 48m. Then reversing to the start position takes about 11 seconds. Otherwise, thanks a lot for your excellent review! Zoltan, 365Astronomy)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Oct 3, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This is a drop-in replacement for the single-speed Crayford focuser on the 12" Sky Watcher Flex Tube Collapsible Dobsonian. Smoothness is exceptional, and should be a major improvement with eyepieces of 10mm or less. Zoltan at 365Astronomy had to hustle a bit to get the item for me, Shipping to my address in the US took about 9 days.

Advantages: Dual speed
Cost effective upgrade
Includes extenders for 1.25" and 2" EPs
"Sky Watcher White"

Disadvantages: No instructions, Allen wrenches, or screws
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 20, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Fits snug and secure on my Celestron Nexstar 127 SLT. Tried it out on the day it arrived, and managed to see a few sunspots. Time to make the most of the long summer days.

Advantages: Easy on & off.
Secure & sturdy, and won't blow off.
Looks like it's easy to replace film if anything should happen.

Disadvantages: No case to safely store to avoid damaging film. Keeping it in shipping box.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 12, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Bought initially to use with my 15x70 binoculars, but is also used with my 4" refractor scope without any balancing issues.
Good points:
Robustness - has a very solid feel
Smooth slow-motion action on both axes, with effective locks
High payload capacity
Light weight
Fits M10 or 3/8" tripod threads

Overall a very useful piece of kit which allows you to scroll the sky past your viewport with ease.

Advantages: Robustness - has a very solid feel
Smooth slow-motion action on both axes, with effective locks
High payload capacity
Light weight
Fits M10 or 3/8" tripod threads

Disadvantages: Paint finish is too thick in places
Flexi-cables come undone too easily
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Feb 22, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Works perfectly on my Fuji X-T20 :)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jan 18, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I bought one of these for a wide very fast wide field telescope I' m building. First of all let me say service was great. Package arrived in 6 days, which surprised me. I live in the US and I thought it would take longer. The product itself was also a surprise. I thought it was a little pricy but 2" accessories usually are. The quality of these prisms is superb. Worth every penny.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Tomas Lengvinas about  ZWO USB ST4 Adapter:
Jan 10, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Not so practical today, but works quite well.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jan 10, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Looks and quality good.

Disadvantages: Only one negative thing is that it doesn't completely fits on Celestron 8 second mirror because little bit small center hole. I had to file center opening to get lose fit.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Dec 3, 2017
Review of the Skywatcher Wifi Adapter.
Have no doubts , this works very well ! The app is very easy to use and yields accurate results. After setting up the mount for levelling and polar aligning, just switch on the power and a small green light will come on the unit. A really excellent bit of kit and really recommended.
Nick.


Advantages: Wifi connection is fast and the gps gives near instant results.
It makes a change not having to enter the time and position in the handset.
Star alignment, followed by searching for targets is very easy, with a simple press on the home logo to get you back. User objects are entered by RA and Dec, best use a screen stylus here.
There are as many options as you need.

Disadvantages: Hoping that the best of the SAO will be added in the future.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Anthony Flynn about  Celestron SkyMaster 15x70 Binocular:
Jul 19, 2017
This customer purchased the item at our site.
The Celestron SkyMaster 15x70 Binoculars are amazing, after a minor collimation the view is crystal clear, you can even make out jupiters moons and a glimpse of saturns ring and the view of the moon is breathtaking, these are fantastic value.

Advantages: great quality, crystal clear view, easy to use, tripod adapter, carry bag, cleaning cloth

Disadvantages: may need tripod for extended viewing but still lighter than the big ones
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Jun 22, 2017
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Bought as a replacement for my 1.25" Lunt and took a chance on this 2" kitted version of the Lacerta as it was a lot cheaper than the equivalent Lunt. I'm glad that I did, the contrast is much higher than previously. Much more detail is visible with regard to photosphere granulation and sunspots. Came to focus easily on my Skywatcher 120ED Equinox and makes the most of this scope's optics.

Advantages: Excellent build quality
Excellent image quality
No in-focus problems
Brewster angle provides superb contrast

Disadvantages: It weighs in at 750g so its no lightweight
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Jun 21, 2017
This customer purchased the item at our site.
very nicely and accurately made

Advantages: secure binocular attachment

Disadvantages: rather heavy. - I cannot see the point of using a finder scope with straight through binoculars.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 18, 2017
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I use this wedge together with a Vixen Polarie, and optics ranging from 14mm to 300mm. Works very well, easy to adjust and reasonable priced. Much more stable and less prone to vibrations than Manfrotto 405 geared head.

Advantages: Stable, easy to adjust, works well on a regular tripod for photography and reasonable priced.

Disadvantages: Somewhat limited panning possibilities, but some accuracy on initial setup, or a panning base, solves that.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Feb 27, 2017
This customer purchased the item at our site.
very well built wedge dose the job very well
highly reccommend

Advantages: very sturdy well built ease of set up and use

Disadvantages: weight but it would not be sturdy without
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Dec 14, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I firstly ordered the ADM version of this product for my Takahashi FD-100 DF. The base of the ADM does not fit onto the scope! I then got the dimensions of the FARPOINT version which were 1mm smaller than the ADM. This one is perfect, it makes packing away into the bag and setting up quick and repeatable. Nice piece of engineering. Thanks for your help Zoltan !

Advantages: Quick take down/set up.

Disadvantages: Stops me using the finder bracket as a handle.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Oct 25, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
had this only a short time but had a go and the images i got of the moon,Jupiter and Saturn were quite impressive for a first attempt they were nice and clear which as a land photographer was quite pleasing some practice is still needed to get the results i want but for a relatively inexpensive astro camera its very much worth its money
i would recommend this to anyone who like me is starting out in astro photography and wanting some good results first time out without spending a small fortune
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (0)
Oct 20, 2016
I use this filter in front of my coma corrector, when imaging emission and planetary nebulae, using a modded dslr on 130 and 254mm dia Newtonian reflectors.

It has proven to be very effective in bringing out the blue-green OIII and H-beta lines in the supernova remnants.

Advantages: Because the bandwidth passed is slightly wider than true NB filters, it means that I can get imaging OIII/H-beta/H-alpha contrast in exposure times of say 90seconds, with stacks of only 90-100 minutes.

So, for DSLR OSC imaging of appropriate targets, you are done and dusted in a single night. All this for a fraction of the cost of the narrower bandwidth UHCs.

You also get to use it as a good light pollution filter on top of the above advantages, under urban city skies

Disadvantages: Always remember that 2" filters are in fact typically 48mm in diameter, not 50.8 or 52mm.

So, when using the filter with a lens-DSLR combination, if the lens is a typical 52mm diameter then you will need a 52-48 step-down ring.

These are £2-£3 only, so no big deal, as long as you are prepped.

Like the Astronomik CLS clip, individual subs-exposures have colour tint - in the case of this product it is slightly purple in colour cast. Just take some flats to cancel out this colour cast.

It soon comes away on stacking in DSS or similar.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Sep 27, 2016
I bought this product for a friend for her birthday. The product came well boxed and presented. Unfortunately, the ring flash did not fit the Sony Alpha A5000. I only discovered this after the deadline for returns, however I contacted 365astronomy and they were extremely helpful. They researched what the issue was (i.e. that Sony have labelled this camera as part of the Alpha range even though it has different specs) and then very kindly offered to refund the product if it was returned. Excellent customer service and I will definitely use 365astronomy again.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Sep 21, 2016
This amazing little refractor is a great piece of kit. The optics are about the best you can get without spending huge amounts on an ED and the dual speed crayford focuser is incredibly smooth. The short focal length gives a glorious wide field view with very little distortion and I was amazed at some of the photographs I took using a stock DSLR.

Advantages: Dual speed crayford focuser
Fabulous optics
Inbuilt finder bracket
Retractable dew shield
2" focuser with brass compression ring
1.25" adapter with brass compression ring
Multi-coated lenses
Fitted vixen dovetail

Disadvantages: No tube rings (but the dovetail means you don't need them)
Focuser does not have a T2 thread but as most DSLR to T2 adapters come with a 1.25" nosepiece, you don't really need it.

So really, there's no disadvantages to the scope!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Aug 26, 2016
I have owned a 25x100 observation binocular for over ten years but used very little. When I purchased them I also purchased the popular Horizon tripod as recommended by the supplier but it was woefully unsuitable for the task being unsteady and the plastic QR plate continuously flexing under the weight of the optics.
Enter the VT680!!!
The difference is night and day. I'm 6'2" with a disabling spinal injury but this tripod is so comfortable to use. Most importantly it is rock steady with zero slop in the head. Previously I had to suffer wobbly images but this tripod has next to no vibration issues and handles my large bino with ease.all the way up to the Zenith.
My only regret is that I hadn't discovered the VT680 earlier.

Advantages: super smooth head, great height range, very sturdy construction.

Disadvantages: None so far.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
Aug 19, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
A+ product! Nice easy and smooth operation. Easy to assemble easy to use! No slop or play in the action. I ordered this from 365Astronmy due to the is no product like this state side to buy, unless you buy the whole focuser $$$. Will recommend to anyone whom wants more bang for their buck/quid/euro.. Well worth the little time it took to assemble.

Advantages: easy and smooth operation. Easy to assemble easy to use! No slop or play in the action.

Disadvantages: Not sold in the USA. but that ok I will recommend 365Astronomy to all of the Newtonian/ Dobsonian folks out there!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 24, 2016
Great guidescope! I am using this product with a Skywatcher 7.5inch Maksutov-Newtonian for deep sky and planetary imaging. Combo seems to work very well.

Advantages: Steel Tube Rings
Many nice accessories
Good price
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 20, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I have just taken delivery of this item and must say I am very impressed . It is a substantial Machined block with good tight fitting screws. It is just what I need for mounting my ST80 on to the Skywatcher Star Adventurer mount, rock solid. Can't fault it.

In addition ordering and delivery were quick hassle free.

Advantages: Solid
Lightweight
Precision engineered

Disadvantages: None that I can find
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 12, 2016
I just wanted to say thank you for the outstanding customer service I received last week when I ordered a sun filter from your website.

Having checked my old filter, I decided it wasn't safe to use to view Monday's transit, so ordered a new one in the hope it would arrive in time. I was pleasantly surprised when you rang me on Saturday and arranged to send it special delivery so I would definitely get it on time.

I have never received such thoughtful and personal service when ordering online before.

Seeing the transit with my daughters was a memorable experience, and that's thanks to you. 365astromony will be my first port of call from now on!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 10, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Very solid little solar finder at only 45mm overall length. No instruction supplied but it is obvious that the front black pin hole adjusts laterally and the rear ground glass screen provides the vertical adjustment to align with the telescope. The illustration shows rather large thumb screws for adjustment but the finder as received has neater hexagonal headed bolts which require a suitable Allen key but are not obtrusive like the thumb screws.
My only negative comment is that the base wedge is slightly oversize by 1-2 mm and would not fit into my SkyWatcher finder mount so required some grinding down to fit!

Advantages: Very simple but neat solid device for finding the sun when aligned with the scope otherwise not an easy task when using Badder Solar Film!

Disadvantages: Wedge base slightly too big to fit into SW finder holder - needed grinding down.

(We are checking this with the customer as we tested it on our Skywatcher Dobsonian and it did perfectly fit with a 0.5mm gap...so we have to check with him what exact finder base he's got on his telescope.../ the shop owner)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

 
The website uses cookies to allow us to better understand how the site is used. By continuing to use this site, you consent to this policy. Click to learn more.