Home :: Customer feedback

Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
53 results found
Show results 1 - 25
May 20, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Great Produt, great service from 365.
I'm very happy with the purchase.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Scotty Bishop about  LACERTA M-GEN v2 Stand-Alone AutoGuider:
May 11, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This is by far the best kept secret for stand alone guiding from Europe, and 365Astronomy is by far the best place to get it as an American!

The MGEN II is amazingly easy to set up. There is no other choice for stand alone guiding that will control all of my Pentax cameras and dither too! I can plug everything in, power it up, set my guidescope info, set my exposure info, set my dithering info, find a star, calibrate, and be guiding within 2 minutes.

There is absolutely nothing else that I know of which can do this. Not only that, I did see there is a polar alignment routine in there too! These are a must have if you use a DSLR and want to leave the laptop at home. The menus are simple, logical, and with the controller doing it in the dark is simple. You can even tell if you've lost a star simply by looking at the unit.

They work so well I've bought 3 of them and will likely buy a 4th soon! You couldn't ask for an autoguiding and DSLR control that is easier to use.

Advantages: Ease of use, instructions are simple, it just works!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Feb 10, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Great product. Does exactly as required and provides direct access through the hand-controller to the mount accessing EQMOD functions through a powered USB 3 hub and 10m USB 3 cable to my laptop. Installation of the cable firmware was easy and worked first time. I can change USB ports and this is automatically picked up. Thanks Zoltan, this was a great recommendation!.

Advantages: Operates perfectly through a long powered USB cable for remote imaging.
Firmware installation is easy
Works with a powered USB hub

Disadvantages: None so far!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Feb 4, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I bought this for my SkyWatcher 8" Dobsonian telescope; US model number S11700. I couldn't find it anywhere on my side of the pond so I ordered it from 365Astronomy, and it showed up in less than 2 weeks. This has to be the best bang for your buck you can add to your SkyWatcher telescope. It's a solid piece of equipment and feels like it could last beyond the life of the telescope. If you have a SkyWatcher with a single speed focuser I highly recommend the Lacerta Dual Speed Microfocuser.

Advantages: Smooth Action, Solidly Built, Common Sense Installation.

Disadvantages: None so far.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jan 2, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Just to confirm above entry, received mine today (2/1/19) for Celestron 8" SCT and the central hole requires small amount of sanding/trimming to fit (365 highlight and offer this for Evolution but the issue appears to be extend to other Celestron 8" SCT). Not a major problem but Farpoint should address this at manufacture (365 do highlight this for 8" Evolution but mine is standard 8SE SCT).
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Nov 28, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This commlite was purchased for my Sony A5000 to use my Cannon Lenses.
Works well, Good Price and Very fast service!

Advantages: Can use Auto Focus and Apature control on selection of Lenses, but not all.
Good option rather than having to purchase expensive Sony Lenses if you already have canon lenses.

Disadvantages: AutoFocus is very slow, if available. Best solution is to use manual focus.
Not all Lenses Apature can be adjusted from the camera.
The disadvantages are out weighed by cost of Sony Lenses.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Nov 6, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This is a stunning mount, far, far better than the iOptron/SW trackers. I cannot measure the PE with a 400-mm lens, it is better than my Paramount. Just be sure to align it accurately with a decent polarscope or PoleMaster and you're done.

Advantages: Light, low power, does not need a guider and well built. Smaller than Astrotrac but tracks better.

Disadvantages: 1.5 hour tracking limit - but if you align first on a star, you can reset a pan head for another go

(note by the UK distributor: it will track for a bit more than 1.5h. Actually it is closer to 2h. To be exact, it'll track for 1h 48m. Then reversing to the start position takes about 11 seconds. Otherwise, thanks a lot for your excellent review! Zoltan, 365Astronomy)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Oct 3, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This is a drop-in replacement for the single-speed Crayford focuser on the 12" Sky Watcher Flex Tube Collapsible Dobsonian. Smoothness is exceptional, and should be a major improvement with eyepieces of 10mm or less. Zoltan at 365Astronomy had to hustle a bit to get the item for me, Shipping to my address in the US took about 9 days.

Advantages: Dual speed
Cost effective upgrade
Includes extenders for 1.25" and 2" EPs
"Sky Watcher White"

Disadvantages: No instructions, Allen wrenches, or screws
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 20, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Fits snug and secure on my Celestron Nexstar 127 SLT. Tried it out on the day it arrived, and managed to see a few sunspots. Time to make the most of the long summer days.

Advantages: Easy on & off.
Secure & sturdy, and won't blow off.
Looks like it's easy to replace film if anything should happen.

Disadvantages: No case to safely store to avoid damaging film. Keeping it in shipping box.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 12, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Bought initially to use with my 15x70 binoculars, but is also used with my 4" refractor scope without any balancing issues.
Good points:
Robustness - has a very solid feel
Smooth slow-motion action on both axes, with effective locks
High payload capacity
Light weight
Fits M10 or 3/8" tripod threads

Overall a very useful piece of kit which allows you to scroll the sky past your viewport with ease.

Advantages: Robustness - has a very solid feel
Smooth slow-motion action on both axes, with effective locks
High payload capacity
Light weight
Fits M10 or 3/8" tripod threads

Disadvantages: Paint finish is too thick in places
Flexi-cables come undone too easily
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Feb 22, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Works perfectly on my Fuji X-T20 :)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jan 18, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I bought one of these for a wide very fast wide field telescope I' m building. First of all let me say service was great. Package arrived in 6 days, which surprised me. I live in the US and I thought it would take longer. The product itself was also a surprise. I thought it was a little pricy but 2" accessories usually are. The quality of these prisms is superb. Worth every penny.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Tomas Lengvinas about  ZWO USB ST4 Adapter:
Jan 10, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Not so practical today, but works quite well.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jan 10, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Looks and quality good.

Disadvantages: Only one negative thing is that it doesn't completely fits on Celestron 8 second mirror because little bit small center hole. I had to file center opening to get lose fit.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Dec 3, 2017
Review of the Skywatcher Wifi Adapter.
Have no doubts , this works very well ! The app is very easy to use and yields accurate results. After setting up the mount for levelling and polar aligning, just switch on the power and a small green light will come on the unit. A really excellent bit of kit and really recommended.
Nick.


Advantages: Wifi connection is fast and the gps gives near instant results.
It makes a change not having to enter the time and position in the handset.
Star alignment, followed by searching for targets is very easy, with a simple press on the home logo to get you back. User objects are entered by RA and Dec, best use a screen stylus here.
There are as many options as you need.

Disadvantages: Hoping that the best of the SAO will be added in the future.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Anthony Flynn about  Celestron SkyMaster 15x70 Binocular:
Jul 19, 2017
This customer purchased the item at our site.
The Celestron SkyMaster 15x70 Binoculars are amazing, after a minor collimation the view is crystal clear, you can even make out jupiters moons and a glimpse of saturns ring and the view of the moon is breathtaking, these are fantastic value.

Advantages: great quality, crystal clear view, easy to use, tripod adapter, carry bag, cleaning cloth

Disadvantages: may need tripod for extended viewing but still lighter than the big ones
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Jun 22, 2017
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Bought as a replacement for my 1.25" Lunt and took a chance on this 2" kitted version of the Lacerta as it was a lot cheaper than the equivalent Lunt. I'm glad that I did, the contrast is much higher than previously. Much more detail is visible with regard to photosphere granulation and sunspots. Came to focus easily on my Skywatcher 120ED Equinox and makes the most of this scope's optics.

Advantages: Excellent build quality
Excellent image quality
No in-focus problems
Brewster angle provides superb contrast

Disadvantages: It weighs in at 750g so its no lightweight
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Jun 21, 2017
This customer purchased the item at our site.
very nicely and accurately made

Advantages: secure binocular attachment

Disadvantages: rather heavy. - I cannot see the point of using a finder scope with straight through binoculars.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Feb 27, 2017
This customer purchased the item at our site.
very well built wedge dose the job very well
highly reccommend

Advantages: very sturdy well built ease of set up and use

Disadvantages: weight but it would not be sturdy without
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Dec 14, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I firstly ordered the ADM version of this product for my Takahashi FD-100 DF. The base of the ADM does not fit onto the scope! I then got the dimensions of the FARPOINT version which were 1mm smaller than the ADM. This one is perfect, it makes packing away into the bag and setting up quick and repeatable. Nice piece of engineering. Thanks for your help Zoltan !

Advantages: Quick take down/set up.

Disadvantages: Stops me using the finder bracket as a handle.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Oct 25, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
had this only a short time but had a go and the images i got of the moon,Jupiter and Saturn were quite impressive for a first attempt they were nice and clear which as a land photographer was quite pleasing some practice is still needed to get the results i want but for a relatively inexpensive astro camera its very much worth its money
i would recommend this to anyone who like me is starting out in astro photography and wanting some good results first time out without spending a small fortune
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
Oct 20, 2016
I use this filter in front of my coma corrector, when imaging emission and planetary nebulae, using a modded dslr on 130 and 254mm dia Newtonian reflectors.

It has proven to be very effective in bringing out the blue-green OIII and H-beta lines in the supernova remnants.

Advantages: Because the bandwidth passed is slightly wider than true NB filters, it means that I can get imaging OIII/H-beta/H-alpha contrast in exposure times of say 90seconds, with stacks of only 90-100 minutes.

So, for DSLR OSC imaging of appropriate targets, you are done and dusted in a single night. All this for a fraction of the cost of the narrower bandwidth UHCs.

You also get to use it as a good light pollution filter on top of the above advantages, under urban city skies

Disadvantages: Always remember that 2" filters are in fact typically 48mm in diameter, not 50.8 or 52mm.

So, when using the filter with a lens-DSLR combination, if the lens is a typical 52mm diameter then you will need a 52-48 step-down ring.

These are £2-£3 only, so no big deal, as long as you are prepped.

Like the Astronomik CLS clip, individual subs-exposures have colour tint - in the case of this product it is slightly purple in colour cast. Just take some flats to cancel out this colour cast.

It soon comes away on stacking in DSS or similar.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Sep 27, 2016
I bought this product for a friend for her birthday. The product came well boxed and presented. Unfortunately, the ring flash did not fit the Sony Alpha A5000. I only discovered this after the deadline for returns, however I contacted 365astronomy and they were extremely helpful. They researched what the issue was (i.e. that Sony have labelled this camera as part of the Alpha range even though it has different specs) and then very kindly offered to refund the product if it was returned. Excellent customer service and I will definitely use 365astronomy again.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Aug 26, 2016
I have owned a 25x100 observation binocular for over ten years but used very little. When I purchased them I also purchased the popular Horizon tripod as recommended by the supplier but it was woefully unsuitable for the task being unsteady and the plastic QR plate continuously flexing under the weight of the optics.
Enter the VT680!!!
The difference is night and day. I'm 6'2" with a disabling spinal injury but this tripod is so comfortable to use. Most importantly it is rock steady with zero slop in the head. Previously I had to suffer wobbly images but this tripod has next to no vibration issues and handles my large bino with ease.all the way up to the Zenith.
My only regret is that I hadn't discovered the VT680 earlier.

Advantages: super smooth head, great height range, very sturdy construction.

Disadvantages: None so far.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
Aug 19, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
A+ product! Nice easy and smooth operation. Easy to assemble easy to use! No slop or play in the action. I ordered this from 365Astronmy due to the is no product like this state side to buy, unless you buy the whole focuser $$$. Will recommend to anyone whom wants more bang for their buck/quid/euro.. Well worth the little time it took to assemble.

Advantages: easy and smooth operation. Easy to assemble easy to use! No slop or play in the action.

Disadvantages: Not sold in the USA. but that ok I will recommend 365Astronomy to all of the Newtonian/ Dobsonian folks out there!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

 
The website uses cookies to allow us to better understand how the site is used. By continuing to use this site, you consent to this policy. Click to learn more.