Home :: Customer feedback

Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
36 results found
Show results 1 - 25
Oct 26, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Fitting a 2-inch BDS-RT Baader Diamond Steeltrack Focuser to a Teleskop-Service GSO 8-inch Ritchey-Chretien

Background

The TS 8-inch RC has M90x1mm connections at the focuser end of the scope. My setup has a TS
50mm extension adapter with for 6- & 8-inch RC connected to the scope (TS part no: GSRCV50),
to accommodate the long back-focus.
Attached to this is a TS M90 tilting adapter flange (TS part no: GSRCJ90). This is an aid to
collimation and allows the long axis of the focuser to be aligned with the optical axis of the scope.
I then have a standard TS monorail focuser for the RC, again with an M90x1 connection.
Image 1 shows the 50mm extension and tilting flange, with the old focuser removed. Note the M90
male thread at the end of the flange, to which the focuser connects.
Fitting the Baader Diamond Steeltrack RT
It is assumed that the reader has access to the Steeltrack manual and has purchased the necessary
RT-Adapter M90x1 Diamond Steeltrack (Baader part number 2957283).


1. The Steeltrack RT is supplied with an M68 adapter as standard. Remove this by loosening
the M5 screws around its outer edge. An M88 dovetail is exposed. See Image 2.

2. Connect the new RT-adapter to the Steeltrack, tightening the M5 screws sufficiently to hold
it in place, but still just rotates. Note that the thumbscrew from the M68 adapter can be
transferred. See Image 3.

3. Connect the Steeltrack to the tilting flange, rotate the focuser to the desired orientation, then
tighten the thumbscrew to lock it in place. If desired, the M5 screws around the edge of the
M90 adapter can be tightened for a firmer grip. See Image 4.

After fitting the Steeltrack, I can confirm that the focuser has the full 80mm inward travel.

This above method should still be applicable, even if a tilting flange is not present, as M90x1mm
connections are standard on this size of RC. However, with only the 50mm extension in place, it
may be that the focuser will not move the final 5mm of inward travel, depending upon the size of
any baffle at the junction of the extension and the scope.
Note that an alternative method is not to transfer the thumbscrew from the M68 to M90 adapters,
but to use the all the standard screws.

G.N.Wilcock
October 2019
(see customer's images under the product description; Zoltan, 365Astronomy)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
May 20, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Great Produt, great service from 365.
I'm very happy with the purchase.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (0)
Feb 4, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I bought this for my SkyWatcher 8" Dobsonian telescope; US model number S11700. I couldn't find it anywhere on my side of the pond so I ordered it from 365Astronomy, and it showed up in less than 2 weeks. This has to be the best bang for your buck you can add to your SkyWatcher telescope. It's a solid piece of equipment and feels like it could last beyond the life of the telescope. If you have a SkyWatcher with a single speed focuser I highly recommend the Lacerta Dual Speed Microfocuser.

Advantages: Smooth Action, Solidly Built, Common Sense Installation.

Disadvantages: None so far.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
Nov 28, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This commlite was purchased for my Sony A5000 to use my Cannon Lenses.
Works well, Good Price and Very fast service!

Advantages: Can use Auto Focus and Apature control on selection of Lenses, but not all.
Good option rather than having to purchase expensive Sony Lenses if you already have canon lenses.

Disadvantages: AutoFocus is very slow, if available. Best solution is to use manual focus.
Not all Lenses Apature can be adjusted from the camera.
The disadvantages are out weighed by cost of Sony Lenses.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (0)
Nov 6, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This is a stunning mount, far, far better than the iOptron/SW trackers. I cannot measure the PE with a 400-mm lens, it is better than my Paramount. Just be sure to align it accurately with a decent polarscope or PoleMaster and you're done.

Advantages: Light, low power, does not need a guider and well built. Smaller than Astrotrac but tracks better.

Disadvantages: 1.5 hour tracking limit - but if you align first on a star, you can reset a pan head for another go

(note by the UK distributor: it will track for a bit more than 1.5h. Actually it is closer to 2h. To be exact, it'll track for 1h 48m. Then reversing to the start position takes about 11 seconds. Otherwise, thanks a lot for your excellent review! Zoltan, 365Astronomy)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (0)
Jan 18, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I bought one of these for a wide very fast wide field telescope I' m building. First of all let me say service was great. Package arrived in 6 days, which surprised me. I live in the US and I thought it would take longer. The product itself was also a surprise. I thought it was a little pricy but 2" accessories usually are. The quality of these prisms is superb. Worth every penny.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
Dec 3, 2017
Review of the Skywatcher Wifi Adapter.
Have no doubts , this works very well ! The app is very easy to use and yields accurate results. After setting up the mount for levelling and polar aligning, just switch on the power and a small green light will come on the unit. A really excellent bit of kit and really recommended.
Nick.


Advantages: Wifi connection is fast and the gps gives near instant results.
It makes a change not having to enter the time and position in the handset.
Star alignment, followed by searching for targets is very easy, with a simple press on the home logo to get you back. User objects are entered by RA and Dec, best use a screen stylus here.
There are as many options as you need.

Disadvantages: Hoping that the best of the SAO will be added in the future.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
Jun 22, 2017
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Bought as a replacement for my 1.25" Lunt and took a chance on this 2" kitted version of the Lacerta as it was a lot cheaper than the equivalent Lunt. I'm glad that I did, the contrast is much higher than previously. Much more detail is visible with regard to photosphere granulation and sunspots. Came to focus easily on my Skywatcher 120ED Equinox and makes the most of this scope's optics.

Advantages: Excellent build quality
Excellent image quality
No in-focus problems
Brewster angle provides superb contrast

Disadvantages: It weighs in at 750g so its no lightweight
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
Jun 21, 2017
This customer purchased the item at our site.
very nicely and accurately made

Advantages: secure binocular attachment

Disadvantages: rather heavy. - I cannot see the point of using a finder scope with straight through binoculars.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Feb 27, 2017
This customer purchased the item at our site.
very well built wedge dose the job very well
highly reccommend

Advantages: very sturdy well built ease of set up and use

Disadvantages: weight but it would not be sturdy without
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Dec 14, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I firstly ordered the ADM version of this product for my Takahashi FD-100 DF. The base of the ADM does not fit onto the scope! I then got the dimensions of the FARPOINT version which were 1mm smaller than the ADM. This one is perfect, it makes packing away into the bag and setting up quick and repeatable. Nice piece of engineering. Thanks for your help Zoltan !

Advantages: Quick take down/set up.

Disadvantages: Stops me using the finder bracket as a handle.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Oct 25, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
had this only a short time but had a go and the images i got of the moon,Jupiter and Saturn were quite impressive for a first attempt they were nice and clear which as a land photographer was quite pleasing some practice is still needed to get the results i want but for a relatively inexpensive astro camera its very much worth its money
i would recommend this to anyone who like me is starting out in astro photography and wanting some good results first time out without spending a small fortune
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (5) / No (0)
Oct 20, 2016
I use this filter in front of my coma corrector, when imaging emission and planetary nebulae, using a modded dslr on 130 and 254mm dia Newtonian reflectors.

It has proven to be very effective in bringing out the blue-green OIII and H-beta lines in the supernova remnants.

Advantages: Because the bandwidth passed is slightly wider than true NB filters, it means that I can get imaging OIII/H-beta/H-alpha contrast in exposure times of say 90seconds, with stacks of only 90-100 minutes.

So, for DSLR OSC imaging of appropriate targets, you are done and dusted in a single night. All this for a fraction of the cost of the narrower bandwidth UHCs.

You also get to use it as a good light pollution filter on top of the above advantages, under urban city skies

Disadvantages: Always remember that 2" filters are in fact typically 48mm in diameter, not 50.8 or 52mm.

So, when using the filter with a lens-DSLR combination, if the lens is a typical 52mm diameter then you will need a 52-48 step-down ring.

These are £2-£3 only, so no big deal, as long as you are prepped.

Like the Astronomik CLS clip, individual subs-exposures have colour tint - in the case of this product it is slightly purple in colour cast. Just take some flats to cancel out this colour cast.

It soon comes away on stacking in DSS or similar.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Sep 27, 2016
I bought this product for a friend for her birthday. The product came well boxed and presented. Unfortunately, the ring flash did not fit the Sony Alpha A5000. I only discovered this after the deadline for returns, however I contacted 365astronomy and they were extremely helpful. They researched what the issue was (i.e. that Sony have labelled this camera as part of the Alpha range even though it has different specs) and then very kindly offered to refund the product if it was returned. Excellent customer service and I will definitely use 365astronomy again.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Aug 26, 2016
I have owned a 25x100 observation binocular for over ten years but used very little. When I purchased them I also purchased the popular Horizon tripod as recommended by the supplier but it was woefully unsuitable for the task being unsteady and the plastic QR plate continuously flexing under the weight of the optics.
Enter the VT680!!!
The difference is night and day. I'm 6'2" with a disabling spinal injury but this tripod is so comfortable to use. Most importantly it is rock steady with zero slop in the head. Previously I had to suffer wobbly images but this tripod has next to no vibration issues and handles my large bino with ease.all the way up to the Zenith.
My only regret is that I hadn't discovered the VT680 earlier.

Advantages: super smooth head, great height range, very sturdy construction.

Disadvantages: None so far.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (4) / No (0)
Aug 19, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
A+ product! Nice easy and smooth operation. Easy to assemble easy to use! No slop or play in the action. I ordered this from 365Astronmy due to the is no product like this state side to buy, unless you buy the whole focuser $$$. Will recommend to anyone whom wants more bang for their buck/quid/euro.. Well worth the little time it took to assemble.

Advantages: easy and smooth operation. Easy to assemble easy to use! No slop or play in the action.

Disadvantages: Not sold in the USA. but that ok I will recommend 365Astronomy to all of the Newtonian/ Dobsonian folks out there!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
May 20, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I have just taken delivery of this item and must say I am very impressed . It is a substantial Machined block with good tight fitting screws. It is just what I need for mounting my ST80 on to the Skywatcher Star Adventurer mount, rock solid. Can't fault it.

In addition ordering and delivery were quick hassle free.

Advantages: Solid
Lightweight
Precision engineered

Disadvantages: None that I can find
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 12, 2016
I just wanted to say thank you for the outstanding customer service I received last week when I ordered a sun filter from your website.

Having checked my old filter, I decided it wasn't safe to use to view Monday's transit, so ordered a new one in the hope it would arrive in time. I was pleasantly surprised when you rang me on Saturday and arranged to send it special delivery so I would definitely get it on time.

I have never received such thoughtful and personal service when ordering online before.

Seeing the transit with my daughters was a memorable experience, and that's thanks to you. 365astromony will be my first port of call from now on!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 10, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Very solid little solar finder at only 45mm overall length. No instruction supplied but it is obvious that the front black pin hole adjusts laterally and the rear ground glass screen provides the vertical adjustment to align with the telescope. The illustration shows rather large thumb screws for adjustment but the finder as received has neater hexagonal headed bolts which require a suitable Allen key but are not obtrusive like the thumb screws.
My only negative comment is that the base wedge is slightly oversize by 1-2 mm and would not fit into my SkyWatcher finder mount so required some grinding down to fit!

Advantages: Very simple but neat solid device for finding the sun when aligned with the scope otherwise not an easy task when using Badder Solar Film!

Disadvantages: Wedge base slightly too big to fit into SW finder holder - needed grinding down.

(We are checking this with the customer as we tested it on our Skywatcher Dobsonian and it did perfectly fit with a 0.5mm gap...so we have to check with him what exact finder base he's got on his telescope.../ the shop owner)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Apr 29, 2016
The difference that the filter makes when imaging the moon is incredible, everything appears sharper and it can even give sharp contrasty lunar images in daylight with black skies. I am going to try it on Venus as soon as its in a suitable position. Jupiter looks strange with very different details becoming noticeable but unfortunately the noise is increased.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Apr 16, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Works well ! Thank you Zoltan!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Mar 19, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I am running two of the mc3 boxes. I used one on a home built pipe mount with Byers expensive RA and DEC gears. Interface to the mc3 is easy to use. I use the synscan handbox controller and not the mc3 handbox. i have not tried the mc3 handbox.

Advantages: You can use almost any type of stepper motor. But, if the stepper rotates too fast then the GEAR RATIO has to be large. If the stepper rotates too slow it might stall. Watch the wiring for the 4 and 6 wire steppers. Both will work if wired correctly. You can get the GPS syncscan adapter from Canada Company. That lets it set the lat/long and time.

Disadvantages: Warning, if you use the synscan hbx, it must have version 2.27 or 2.28. Any other code will not work. Do not buy the synscan 3.x or upgrade the one you might purchase. You can not downgrade from 3.x to 2.27. I tried that and it did not work with the mc3. I have had to play with the GEAR ratio the MC3 uses. You have to do some star tracking and determine the too fast or too slow error and adjust the Gear Ratio number in the MC3.

Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Feb 6, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This upgrade kit works on the Orion XT8 single speed crayford too. I am very pleased with the communication from 365 regarding this and being able to get it shipped to US in just a little over 1 week. Installed just like the pdf shows, very easy and nice smooth action.

Advantages: Fits Orion XT8 single speed crayford.
Easy installation, no holes to drill, no collimation issues afterward.
Very smooth action.

Disadvantages: None, I am very pleased with the quality.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (0)
Oct 13, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I ordered this 80mm scope primarily for use as a spotter for archery, but was also interested ini ts use for astronomy. It was delivered very promptly by courier and in one piece despite a recent Astronomy Conference causing some delay!. Thank you for that.

Advantages: For me the scope worked well as an archery spotter over some 30m range (long garden) offering a good clear view of all of the target at x20 and an excellent view of the gold for those who group their arrows there! At 30 m I would say the magnification is a little high, but clearly at 50 -100m range it will prove excellent.
The focussingi s smooth (if a little lengthy) but does not disturb the scope when operated with a single finger..
The finish to scope is very good, feels robust, and is unlikely to slip out of your hands. There is an integral fixed hood to keep some sun out. (The fron lens is set back). The mounting is fixed (no rotation), but angle is easily changed with a standard tripod head to view from the side. Image is large and clear.

Disadvantages: I would say there are few disadvantages to this model, and it is inexpensive! (I happliy spend £1000- £2000 on L-series lenses for canon a SLR). - and there lies the problem in quality. Viewing stars and planets recently, I became aware of the chomatic aberration from the lens train in the scope, and I am not used to seeing that! So viewing astronomical objects with the scope is somewhat limited by the colour splitting on sharp objects. Having said that I did get a good view of the moon x60 where I saw more detail than I have seen since working with professional telescopes decades ago! Not a bad product at at all!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Oct 9, 2015
Kind of an anticlimax... I've been mulling over getting a dual speed for my 150P for a while. They're expensive though and being an amateur engineer even considered having a go at making one. I'm only an amateur astronomer, like taking images of planets to the best of my ability and pleased with the results. Focusing on the standard single speed 150P became a limitation to the imaging and a dual speed was on the cards but without breaking the bank. Then I found this product, ordered and delivered. It's well made, feels good and smooth, has a quality feel about it, adds a little mass but not much. When I say "a bit of an anti climax", I was looking forward to an evening tinkering in the garage on my own with my new focuser. Website doesn't say it will fit a 150P so expected maybe mill a little off here and there, turn down some bits .... potentially an evening of fun. Five and half minutes later (including time to find the right allen keys), it's fitted. It fits? Like a glove, silky smooth, with no adjustment, no mucking about or re engineering to make it fit, it just fits? What an excellent piece of kit! It has totally transformed my cheap scope. It will of course be cloudy now for the next six months!

Advantages: It fits, It's easy to fit. It transforms the scope. A very reasonable price considering quality of engineering, smoothness etc.

Disadvantages: None from my perspective.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (0)

 
The website uses cookies to allow us to better understand how the site is used. By continuing to use this site, you consent to this policy. Click to learn more.