Home :: Customer feedback

Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
59 results found
Show results 1 - 25
Oct 26, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Fitting a 2-inch BDS-RT Baader Diamond Steeltrack Focuser to a Teleskop-Service GSO 8-inch Ritchey-Chretien

Background

The TS 8-inch RC has M90x1mm connections at the focuser end of the scope. My setup has a TS
50mm extension adapter with for 6- & 8-inch RC connected to the scope (TS part no: GSRCV50),
to accommodate the long back-focus.
Attached to this is a TS M90 tilting adapter flange (TS part no: GSRCJ90). This is an aid to
collimation and allows the long axis of the focuser to be aligned with the optical axis of the scope.
I then have a standard TS monorail focuser for the RC, again with an M90x1 connection.
Image 1 shows the 50mm extension and tilting flange, with the old focuser removed. Note the M90
male thread at the end of the flange, to which the focuser connects.
Fitting the Baader Diamond Steeltrack RT
It is assumed that the reader has access to the Steeltrack manual and has purchased the necessary
RT-Adapter M90x1 Diamond Steeltrack (Baader part number 2957283).


1. The Steeltrack RT is supplied with an M68 adapter as standard. Remove this by loosening
the M5 screws around its outer edge. An M88 dovetail is exposed. See Image 2.

2. Connect the new RT-adapter to the Steeltrack, tightening the M5 screws sufficiently to hold
it in place, but still just rotates. Note that the thumbscrew from the M68 adapter can be
transferred. See Image 3.

3. Connect the Steeltrack to the tilting flange, rotate the focuser to the desired orientation, then
tighten the thumbscrew to lock it in place. If desired, the M5 screws around the edge of the
M90 adapter can be tightened for a firmer grip. See Image 4.

After fitting the Steeltrack, I can confirm that the focuser has the full 80mm inward travel.

This above method should still be applicable, even if a tilting flange is not present, as M90x1mm
connections are standard on this size of RC. However, with only the 50mm extension in place, it
may be that the focuser will not move the final 5mm of inward travel, depending upon the size of
any baffle at the junction of the extension and the scope.
Note that an alternative method is not to transfer the thumbscrew from the M68 to M90 adapters,
but to use the all the standard screws.

G.N.Wilcock
October 2019
(see customer's images under the product description; Zoltan, 365Astronomy)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Oct 10, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Great service from the 365 team.
Solar filter fits my SW Skymax Mak 127 perfectly. Nice and reassuringly snug. Highly recommend.

Advantages: Won't break if you accidentally drop it. Great snug reassuring fit.
Easy to maintain.
Bought a 50p Tupperware tub to store it in.

Disadvantages: No plastic container to store it in but for 50p a cheap Tupperware tub does the job perfectly. Does not detract from the quality or fit.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Oct 5, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Very good quality product, perfectly feat on a A7S and lens attach without any slack.
Beside international shipping is very good too, fast and no additional taxes problem.

Advantages: With drop-in 48mm filter holder
Light weight
No electronic, doesn't draw energy
With a tripod Adapter

Disadvantages: No AF or aperture control pass-through, only manual operations
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Aug 16, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This is an impressively made piece of equipment at an impressively low price.

Advantages: Useful not only for astrophotography but for visual work as well. The only additional item that would be required is an eyepiece holder with a T2 thread.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jul 20, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Quality made. Easy to use. Really smooth alt-az movements at an affordable price.

Advantages: Price & quality

Disadvantages: None
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jul 8, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Price is amazing, I had been close to buying these at £130 from elsewhere (rrp is ~£180) when they popped up here at £99. What a deal.
Arrived extremely promptly by Royal Mail.

Build quality seems good, they are sturdy and the rubber like finish is what you would expect. The hinge is stiff but this is good imo (better stiff than loose). Focus wheel is just right. Very deep twists ups which I like.

Image quality is very nice, exceptionally bright and easy to look through. Ideal for my use, birding - although they might be a little heavy if you were carrying them all day.

I cannot be more pleased with the glass, At their rrp they would be good value, at this price they are a steal.


Advantages: Good build quality.
Flip down lens caps - minor but for some reason I did not expect this, but its always a nice thing.
Great optics at this price bracket.
Amazing value at sale price.

Disadvantages: A little heavy for carrying around in the hand but this is true of all 56 binocs.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 20, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Great Produt, great service from 365.
I'm very happy with the purchase.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Scotty Bishop about  LACERTA M-GEN v2 Stand-Alone AutoGuider:
May 11, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This is by far the best kept secret for stand alone guiding from Europe, and 365Astronomy is by far the best place to get it as an American!

The MGEN II is amazingly easy to set up. There is no other choice for stand alone guiding that will control all of my Pentax cameras and dither too! I can plug everything in, power it up, set my guidescope info, set my exposure info, set my dithering info, find a star, calibrate, and be guiding within 2 minutes.

There is absolutely nothing else that I know of which can do this. Not only that, I did see there is a polar alignment routine in there too! These are a must have if you use a DSLR and want to leave the laptop at home. The menus are simple, logical, and with the controller doing it in the dark is simple. You can even tell if you've lost a star simply by looking at the unit.

They work so well I've bought 3 of them and will likely buy a 4th soon! You couldn't ask for an autoguiding and DSLR control that is easier to use.

Advantages: Ease of use, instructions are simple, it just works!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Feb 10, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Great product. Does exactly as required and provides direct access through the hand-controller to the mount accessing EQMOD functions through a powered USB 3 hub and 10m USB 3 cable to my laptop. Installation of the cable firmware was easy and worked first time. I can change USB ports and this is automatically picked up. Thanks Zoltan, this was a great recommendation!.

Advantages: Operates perfectly through a long powered USB cable for remote imaging.
Firmware installation is easy
Works with a powered USB hub

Disadvantages: None so far!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Feb 4, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I bought this for my SkyWatcher 8" Dobsonian telescope; US model number S11700. I couldn't find it anywhere on my side of the pond so I ordered it from 365Astronomy, and it showed up in less than 2 weeks. This has to be the best bang for your buck you can add to your SkyWatcher telescope. It's a solid piece of equipment and feels like it could last beyond the life of the telescope. If you have a SkyWatcher with a single speed focuser I highly recommend the Lacerta Dual Speed Microfocuser.

Advantages: Smooth Action, Solidly Built, Common Sense Installation.

Disadvantages: None so far.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Jan 2, 2019
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Just to confirm above entry, received mine today (2/1/19) for Celestron 8" SCT and the central hole requires small amount of sanding/trimming to fit (365 highlight and offer this for Evolution but the issue appears to be extend to other Celestron 8" SCT). Not a major problem but Farpoint should address this at manufacture (365 do highlight this for 8" Evolution but mine is standard 8SE SCT).
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Nov 28, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This commlite was purchased for my Sony A5000 to use my Cannon Lenses.
Works well, Good Price and Very fast service!

Advantages: Can use Auto Focus and Apature control on selection of Lenses, but not all.
Good option rather than having to purchase expensive Sony Lenses if you already have canon lenses.

Disadvantages: AutoFocus is very slow, if available. Best solution is to use manual focus.
Not all Lenses Apature can be adjusted from the camera.
The disadvantages are out weighed by cost of Sony Lenses.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Nov 6, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This is a stunning mount, far, far better than the iOptron/SW trackers. I cannot measure the PE with a 400-mm lens, it is better than my Paramount. Just be sure to align it accurately with a decent polarscope or PoleMaster and you're done.

Advantages: Light, low power, does not need a guider and well built. Smaller than Astrotrac but tracks better.

Disadvantages: 1.5 hour tracking limit - but if you align first on a star, you can reset a pan head for another go

(note by the UK distributor: it will track for a bit more than 1.5h. Actually it is closer to 2h. To be exact, it'll track for 1h 48m. Then reversing to the start position takes about 11 seconds. Otherwise, thanks a lot for your excellent review! Zoltan, 365Astronomy)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Oct 3, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This is a drop-in replacement for the single-speed Crayford focuser on the 12" Sky Watcher Flex Tube Collapsible Dobsonian. Smoothness is exceptional, and should be a major improvement with eyepieces of 10mm or less. Zoltan at 365Astronomy had to hustle a bit to get the item for me, Shipping to my address in the US took about 9 days.

Advantages: Dual speed
Cost effective upgrade
Includes extenders for 1.25" and 2" EPs
"Sky Watcher White"

Disadvantages: No instructions, Allen wrenches, or screws
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Jun 20, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Fits snug and secure on my Celestron Nexstar 127 SLT. Tried it out on the day it arrived, and managed to see a few sunspots. Time to make the most of the long summer days.

Advantages: Easy on & off.
Secure & sturdy, and won't blow off.
Looks like it's easy to replace film if anything should happen.

Disadvantages: No case to safely store to avoid damaging film. Keeping it in shipping box.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Jun 12, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Bought initially to use with my 15x70 binoculars, but is also used with my 4" refractor scope without any balancing issues.
Good points:
Robustness - has a very solid feel
Smooth slow-motion action on both axes, with effective locks
High payload capacity
Light weight
Fits M10 or 3/8" tripod threads

Overall a very useful piece of kit which allows you to scroll the sky past your viewport with ease.

Advantages: Robustness - has a very solid feel
Smooth slow-motion action on both axes, with effective locks
High payload capacity
Light weight
Fits M10 or 3/8" tripod threads

Disadvantages: Paint finish is too thick in places
Flexi-cables come undone too easily
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Feb 22, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Works perfectly on my Fuji X-T20 :)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jan 18, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I bought one of these for a wide very fast wide field telescope I' m building. First of all let me say service was great. Package arrived in 6 days, which surprised me. I live in the US and I thought it would take longer. The product itself was also a surprise. I thought it was a little pricy but 2" accessories usually are. The quality of these prisms is superb. Worth every penny.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Tomas Lengvinas about  ZWO USB ST4 Adapter:
Jan 10, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Not so practical today, but works quite well.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Jan 10, 2018
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Looks and quality good.

Disadvantages: Only one negative thing is that it doesn't completely fits on Celestron 8 second mirror because little bit small center hole. I had to file center opening to get lose fit.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Dec 3, 2017
Review of the Skywatcher Wifi Adapter.
Have no doubts , this works very well ! The app is very easy to use and yields accurate results. After setting up the mount for levelling and polar aligning, just switch on the power and a small green light will come on the unit. A really excellent bit of kit and really recommended.
Nick.


Advantages: Wifi connection is fast and the gps gives near instant results.
It makes a change not having to enter the time and position in the handset.
Star alignment, followed by searching for targets is very easy, with a simple press on the home logo to get you back. User objects are entered by RA and Dec, best use a screen stylus here.
There are as many options as you need.

Disadvantages: Hoping that the best of the SAO will be added in the future.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Anthony Flynn about  Celestron SkyMaster 15x70 Binocular:
Jul 19, 2017
This customer purchased the item at our site.
The Celestron SkyMaster 15x70 Binoculars are amazing, after a minor collimation the view is crystal clear, you can even make out jupiters moons and a glimpse of saturns ring and the view of the moon is breathtaking, these are fantastic value.

Advantages: great quality, crystal clear view, easy to use, tripod adapter, carry bag, cleaning cloth

Disadvantages: may need tripod for extended viewing but still lighter than the big ones
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Jun 22, 2017
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Bought as a replacement for my 1.25" Lunt and took a chance on this 2" kitted version of the Lacerta as it was a lot cheaper than the equivalent Lunt. I'm glad that I did, the contrast is much higher than previously. Much more detail is visible with regard to photosphere granulation and sunspots. Came to focus easily on my Skywatcher 120ED Equinox and makes the most of this scope's optics.

Advantages: Excellent build quality
Excellent image quality
No in-focus problems
Brewster angle provides superb contrast

Disadvantages: It weighs in at 750g so its no lightweight
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (0)
Jun 21, 2017
This customer purchased the item at our site.
very nicely and accurately made

Advantages: secure binocular attachment

Disadvantages: rather heavy. - I cannot see the point of using a finder scope with straight through binoculars.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Feb 27, 2017
This customer purchased the item at our site.
very well built wedge dose the job very well
highly reccommend

Advantages: very sturdy well built ease of set up and use

Disadvantages: weight but it would not be sturdy without
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)

 
The website uses cookies to allow us to better understand how the site is used. By continuing to use this site, you consent to this policy. Click to learn more.