Home :: Customer feedback

Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
40 results found
Show results 1 - 25
Anthony Flynn about  Celestron SkyMaster 15x70 Binocular:
Jul 19, 2017
This customer purchased the item at our site.
The Celestron SkyMaster 15x70 Binoculars are amazing, after a minor collimation the view is crystal clear, you can even make out jupiters moons and a glimpse of saturns ring and the view of the moon is breathtaking, these are fantastic value.

Advantages: great quality, crystal clear view, easy to use, tripod adapter, carry bag, cleaning cloth

Disadvantages: may need tripod for extended viewing but still lighter than the big ones
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Jun 22, 2017
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Bought as a replacement for my 1.25" Lunt and took a chance on this 2" kitted version of the Lacerta as it was a lot cheaper than the equivalent Lunt. I'm glad that I did, the contrast is much higher than previously. Much more detail is visible with regard to photosphere granulation and sunspots. Came to focus easily on my Skywatcher 120ED Equinox and makes the most of this scope's optics.

Advantages: Excellent build quality
Excellent image quality
No in-focus problems
Brewster angle provides superb contrast

Disadvantages: It weighs in at 750g so its no lightweight
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Jun 21, 2017
This customer purchased the item at our site.
very nicely and accurately made

Advantages: secure binocular attachment

Disadvantages: rather heavy. - I cannot see the point of using a finder scope with straight through binoculars.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 18, 2017
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I use this wedge together with a Vixen Polarie, and optics ranging from 14mm to 300mm. Works very well, easy to adjust and reasonable priced. Much more stable and less prone to vibrations than Manfrotto 405 geared head.

Advantages: Stable, easy to adjust, works well on a regular tripod for photography and reasonable priced.

Disadvantages: Somewhat limited panning possibilities, but some accuracy on initial setup, or a panning base, solves that.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Feb 27, 2017
This customer purchased the item at our site.
very well built wedge dose the job very well
highly reccommend

Advantages: very sturdy well built ease of set up and use

Disadvantages: weight but it would not be sturdy without
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Dec 14, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I firstly ordered the ADM version of this product for my Takahashi FD-100 DF. The base of the ADM does not fit onto the scope! I then got the dimensions of the FARPOINT version which were 1mm smaller than the ADM. This one is perfect, it makes packing away into the bag and setting up quick and repeatable. Nice piece of engineering. Thanks for your help Zoltan !

Advantages: Quick take down/set up.

Disadvantages: Stops me using the finder bracket as a handle.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Oct 25, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
had this only a short time but had a go and the images i got of the moon,Jupiter and Saturn were quite impressive for a first attempt they were nice and clear which as a land photographer was quite pleasing some practice is still needed to get the results i want but for a relatively inexpensive astro camera its very much worth its money
i would recommend this to anyone who like me is starting out in astro photography and wanting some good results first time out without spending a small fortune
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Oct 20, 2016
I use this filter in front of my coma corrector, when imaging emission and planetary nebulae, using a modded dslr on 130 and 254mm dia Newtonian reflectors.

It has proven to be very effective in bringing out the blue-green OIII and H-beta lines in the supernova remnants.

Advantages: Because the bandwidth passed is slightly wider than true NB filters, it means that I can get imaging OIII/H-beta/H-alpha contrast in exposure times of say 90seconds, with stacks of only 90-100 minutes.

So, for DSLR OSC imaging of appropriate targets, you are done and dusted in a single night. All this for a fraction of the cost of the narrower bandwidth UHCs.

You also get to use it as a good light pollution filter on top of the above advantages, under urban city skies

Disadvantages: Always remember that 2" filters are in fact typically 48mm in diameter, not 50.8 or 52mm.

So, when using the filter with a lens-DSLR combination, if the lens is a typical 52mm diameter then you will need a 52-48 step-down ring.

These are £2-£3 only, so no big deal, as long as you are prepped.

Like the Astronomik CLS clip, individual subs-exposures have colour tint - in the case of this product it is slightly purple in colour cast. Just take some flats to cancel out this colour cast.

It soon comes away on stacking in DSS or similar.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Sep 27, 2016
I bought this product for a friend for her birthday. The product came well boxed and presented. Unfortunately, the ring flash did not fit the Sony Alpha A5000. I only discovered this after the deadline for returns, however I contacted 365astronomy and they were extremely helpful. They researched what the issue was (i.e. that Sony have labelled this camera as part of the Alpha range even though it has different specs) and then very kindly offered to refund the product if it was returned. Excellent customer service and I will definitely use 365astronomy again.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Sep 21, 2016
This amazing little refractor is a great piece of kit. The optics are about the best you can get without spending huge amounts on an ED and the dual speed crayford focuser is incredibly smooth. The short focal length gives a glorious wide field view with very little distortion and I was amazed at some of the photographs I took using a stock DSLR.

Advantages: Dual speed crayford focuser
Fabulous optics
Inbuilt finder bracket
Retractable dew shield
2" focuser with brass compression ring
1.25" adapter with brass compression ring
Multi-coated lenses
Fitted vixen dovetail

Disadvantages: No tube rings (but the dovetail means you don't need them)
Focuser does not have a T2 thread but as most DSLR to T2 adapters come with a 1.25" nosepiece, you don't really need it.

So really, there's no disadvantages to the scope!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Aug 26, 2016
I have owned a 25x100 observation binocular for over ten years but used very little. When I purchased them I also purchased the popular Horizon tripod as recommended by the supplier but it was woefully unsuitable for the task being unsteady and the plastic QR plate continuously flexing under the weight of the optics.
Enter the VT680!!!
The difference is night and day. I'm 6'2" with a disabling spinal injury but this tripod is so comfortable to use. Most importantly it is rock steady with zero slop in the head. Previously I had to suffer wobbly images but this tripod has next to no vibration issues and handles my large bino with ease.all the way up to the Zenith.
My only regret is that I hadn't discovered the VT680 earlier.

Advantages: super smooth head, great height range, very sturdy construction.

Disadvantages: None so far.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (0)
Aug 19, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
A+ product! Nice easy and smooth operation. Easy to assemble easy to use! No slop or play in the action. I ordered this from 365Astronmy due to the is no product like this state side to buy, unless you buy the whole focuser $$$. Will recommend to anyone whom wants more bang for their buck/quid/euro.. Well worth the little time it took to assemble.

Advantages: easy and smooth operation. Easy to assemble easy to use! No slop or play in the action.

Disadvantages: Not sold in the USA. but that ok I will recommend 365Astronomy to all of the Newtonian/ Dobsonian folks out there!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 24, 2016
Great guidescope! I am using this product with a Skywatcher 7.5inch Maksutov-Newtonian for deep sky and planetary imaging. Combo seems to work very well.

Advantages: Steel Tube Rings
Many nice accessories
Good price
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 20, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I have just taken delivery of this item and must say I am very impressed . It is a substantial Machined block with good tight fitting screws. It is just what I need for mounting my ST80 on to the Skywatcher Star Adventurer mount, rock solid. Can't fault it.

In addition ordering and delivery were quick hassle free.

Advantages: Solid
Lightweight
Precision engineered

Disadvantages: None that I can find
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 12, 2016
I just wanted to say thank you for the outstanding customer service I received last week when I ordered a sun filter from your website.

Having checked my old filter, I decided it wasn't safe to use to view Monday's transit, so ordered a new one in the hope it would arrive in time. I was pleasantly surprised when you rang me on Saturday and arranged to send it special delivery so I would definitely get it on time.

I have never received such thoughtful and personal service when ordering online before.

Seeing the transit with my daughters was a memorable experience, and that's thanks to you. 365astromony will be my first port of call from now on!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
May 10, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Very solid little solar finder at only 45mm overall length. No instruction supplied but it is obvious that the front black pin hole adjusts laterally and the rear ground glass screen provides the vertical adjustment to align with the telescope. The illustration shows rather large thumb screws for adjustment but the finder as received has neater hexagonal headed bolts which require a suitable Allen key but are not obtrusive like the thumb screws.
My only negative comment is that the base wedge is slightly oversize by 1-2 mm and would not fit into my SkyWatcher finder mount so required some grinding down to fit!

Advantages: Very simple but neat solid device for finding the sun when aligned with the scope otherwise not an easy task when using Badder Solar Film!

Disadvantages: Wedge base slightly too big to fit into SW finder holder - needed grinding down.

(We are checking this with the customer as we tested it on our Skywatcher Dobsonian and it did perfectly fit with a 0.5mm gap...so we have to check with him what exact finder base he's got on his telescope.../ the shop owner)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Apr 29, 2016
The difference that the filter makes when imaging the moon is incredible, everything appears sharper and it can even give sharp contrasty lunar images in daylight with black skies. I am going to try it on Venus as soon as its in a suitable position. Jupiter looks strange with very different details becoming noticeable but unfortunately the noise is increased.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Apr 28, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This Herschel Wedge is a great buy. Far better for seeing the Sun in white light than any filter I have ever used, very good for visual observations and so easy to adjust the level of brightness with a polarizing filter.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Apr 16, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Works well ! Thank you Zoltan!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Apr 12, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Perfect tight fit for the Skywatcher Startravel 102 refractor.

Advantages: This is the first time I have tried solar astronomy and the results with this filter are astounding. The advantage of Baader Solar Film but in this perfect fit plastic mount which is a third of the cost of the Baader aluminium adjustable mount.

Disadvantages: Finding the sun! Yes - so efficient at blocking light that the background is totally black and makes locating the sun through the scope very difficult. Solution - about to order the Lacerta Solar Finder which also happens to have a Skywatcher compatible mount.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Mar 25, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This fits my Celeston 127 Nextstar SLT perfectly. Works well to.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Mar 19, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I am running two of the mc3 boxes. I used one on a home built pipe mount with Byers expensive RA and DEC gears. Interface to the mc3 is easy to use. I use the synscan handbox controller and not the mc3 handbox. i have not tried the mc3 handbox.

Advantages: You can use almost any type of stepper motor. But, if the stepper rotates too fast then the GEAR RATIO has to be large. If the stepper rotates too slow it might stall. Watch the wiring for the 4 and 6 wire steppers. Both will work if wired correctly. You can get the GPS syncscan adapter from Canada Company. That lets it set the lat/long and time.

Disadvantages: Warning, if you use the synscan hbx, it must have version 2.27 or 2.28. Any other code will not work. Do not buy the synscan 3.x or upgrade the one you might purchase. You can not downgrade from 3.x to 2.27. I tried that and it did not work with the mc3. I have had to play with the GEAR ratio the MC3 uses. You have to do some star tracking and determine the too fast or too slow error and adjust the Gear Ratio number in the MC3.

Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Mr. Eugene O'Malley about  Celestron Ultima LX 17mm Eyepiece:
Mar 12, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I normally use a 21mm Hyperion for deep sky and found it to be good. I can't fault the 17mm Ultima LX. In my F/10 9.25” SCT, I think it's better with superior edge correction. It has good light throughput, is dead sharp in the centre, has depth of focus with pin point stars to 90% of the field stop. Objects just seem to snap-to-focus.

Advantages: Contrasty with a nice dark background and flat field across 90% of the fov. It is also a good planetary eyepiece. I didn’t notice any ghosting or flaring. The angular design means that it won't slide off a table and the dual fitting means it can be used in 1 1/4 and 2" focusers. The twist up eye cup is a nice feature which allows good eye placement. The wide 70 deg fov is comfortable and you can see the entire view with ease. On a night of good seeing I saw intricate cloud structure in Jupiter's belts at 138X

Disadvantages: It is bulky and weighs about 1 1/4lb, which may require counter-balancing on some mounts. The 1 1/4” nosepiece may slip unless it is securely tightened.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Feb 6, 2016
This customer purchased the item at our site.
This upgrade kit works on the Orion XT8 single speed crayford too. I am very pleased with the communication from 365 regarding this and being able to get it shipped to US in just a little over 1 week. Installed just like the pdf shows, very easy and nice smooth action.

Advantages: Fits Orion XT8 single speed crayford.
Easy installation, no holes to drill, no collimation issues afterward.
Very smooth action.

Disadvantages: None, I am very pleased with the quality.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Oct 13, 2015
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I ordered this 80mm scope primarily for use as a spotter for archery, but was also interested ini ts use for astronomy. It was delivered very promptly by courier and in one piece despite a recent Astronomy Conference causing some delay!. Thank you for that.

Advantages: For me the scope worked well as an archery spotter over some 30m range (long garden) offering a good clear view of all of the target at x20 and an excellent view of the gold for those who group their arrows there! At 30 m I would say the magnification is a little high, but clearly at 50 -100m range it will prove excellent.
The focussingi s smooth (if a little lengthy) but does not disturb the scope when operated with a single finger..
The finish to scope is very good, feels robust, and is unlikely to slip out of your hands. There is an integral fixed hood to keep some sun out. (The fron lens is set back). The mounting is fixed (no rotation), but angle is easily changed with a standard tripod head to view from the side. Image is large and clear.

Disadvantages: I would say there are few disadvantages to this model, and it is inexpensive! (I happliy spend £1000- £2000 on L-series lenses for canon a SLR). - and there lies the problem in quality. Viewing stars and planets recently, I became aware of the chomatic aberration from the lens train in the scope, and I am not used to seeing that! So viewing astronomical objects with the scope is somewhat limited by the colour splitting on sharp objects. Having said that I did get a good view of the moon x60 where I saw more detail than I have seen since working with professional telescopes decades ago! Not a bad product at at all!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

 
The cookie settings on this website are adjusted to allow all cookies so that you have the very best experience. If you continue without changing your cookie settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on our website. However, if you would like to, you can change your settings at any time using the Change cookie settings link in the Special menu.